Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

Political Science Research@Emory Libraries

Recommended Databsees

  • Political Science Complete
    • Covers most political science subfields, with significant full text.
  • Scopus
    • Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with bibliometric tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
  • Econlit
    • Full text for more than 400 publications including titles from the American economic Association such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives. Can search concurrently with Sociological Abstracts and Political Science Complete.
  • SocIndex
    • Covers major international literature (journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers) in sociology and related disciplines.  Can search concurrently with Econlit and Political Science Complete.
  • Semantic Scholar
    • New-ish AI-powered tool for article literature searching; provides abstracts (TDLR) for citations. 
  • Articles+
    • Search across Emory's databases (articles and e-books)

Dependent on your research projects (geographic focus, method, population, overlap with other subject areas), there may be more specific databases with deeper literature. For example, Africa Confidential, Chinese Academic Journals, Philosopher's Index and Mass Communication and Media. We can discuss these as we meet in person!

Reference and Overviews

  • Edward Elgar Collection
  • Oxford Bibliographies
  • Oxford Handbooks
    • Browse by Political Science, Economics or just run search. Note that you can limit by access that Emory has. In cases where we do not, check discoverE, and request needed chapters.
  • Routledge Handbooks (search portal for specific titles, or discoverE)
    • Great resource for building initial literature reviews, identifying important figures in the literature, and engaging with major theories. Emory has a subscription to all the Handbooks.
  • Annual Reviews of Political Science
    • In-depth reviews of the political science literature, published annually, with an emphasis on overviews and more recent approaches and theories.  Note that the HTML version is good for tracing citations, but does not have needed page numbers.