Legislative History

The Congressional Record is a verbatim record of the daily actions taken on the Congressional floor.  Each chamber produces a Journal of their respective activities, but the Congressional Record is considered the “fullest” record of legislative proceedings and activities.  It is published daily (often overnight) for every day either chamber of congress is in session.  Additionally, each day’s record includes a Daily Digest which summarizes each chamber’s activities for the day (number of bills introduced, floor actions taken, meetings held, upcoming meetings scheduled, etc.).

The Congressional Record contains four distinct sections:

1. Senate (floor proceedings),
2. House (floor proceedings),
3. Extensions of Remarks (additional remarks from House Members), and
4. Daily Digest (summary of floor and committee proceedings).

For more information on the structure and history of the Congressional Record, see Congress.gov’s About the Congressional Record.

Where to find the Congressional Record:

Congressional Record In Print (1^st Floor)

• Congressional Globe, Dec 7, 1835 – March 3, 1873
• Congressional Record Index only, 1875 – 1965
• Congressional Record, 1966 – present (including indexes)
• Additional dates may be available in microfiche

Congressional Record Online:

• Freely Available Sources:
  • govinfo.gov, Congressional Record, 1994 – present (authenticated .pdfs)
  • govinfo.gov, Congressional Record Index, 1984 – present
  • Congress.gov, Congressional Record, 1995 – present
     
• WestlawNext:
  • Congressional Record, 1985 – present
     
• HeinOnline:
  • Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774 – 1789
  • Annals of the Congress of the United States, 1789 – 1824
  • Register of Debates in Congress, 1825 – 1837
  • American State Papers, 1789 – 1838
  • Congressional Globe, 1833 – 1873
  • Congressional Record, 1873 – 2010
  • Congressional Record Daily, 1980 – present
     
• ProQuest Congressional:
  • Congressional Record, 1985 – present
  • Congressional Record Bound Edition and Predecessors, 1789 – 1997

H of R Floor Proceedings In Print (1^st Floor):

• House Journal, 1966 – 2011
• U.S. Congressional Serial Set, selected volumes (#1502 – #15375), 1871 – 2010

H of R Floor Proceedings Online:

• House of Representatives (house.gov)
  • Legislative Activities (includes house calendar)
  • Daily Digest
  • HouseLive Video Streams
     
• House of Representatives Office of the Clerk (clerk.house.gov)
  • Legislative Activities (includes house calendar)
  • House Floor Activities (daily schedule)
  • Live Video of House Floor
     
• govinfo.gov
  • House Journal, 1992 – 2011
     
• Library of Congress
  • House Journal, 1789 – 1875
     
• ProQuest Congressional
  • House and Senate Documents, 1817 – present (via “Advanced Search” feature)

Senate Floor Proceedings In Print (1^st Floor)

• Senate Journal, 1954 – 2012
• U.S. Congressional Serial Set, selected volumes (#1502 – #15375), 1871 – 2010

Senate Floor Proceedings Online:

• Senate (senate.gov)
  • Legislation & Records (includes Senate calendar)
  • Daily Digest
  • Active Legislation
     
• Library of Congress
  • Senate Journal, 1789 – 1875
     
• ProQuest Congressional
  • House and Senate Documents, 1817 – present (via "Advanced Search" feature)

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 18, 2025 - November 2, 2025)*:

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 12am
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - 12am
*Extended hours begin Monday, November 3, 2025.

Reference Desk (August 18, 2025 - December 11, 2025):
Monday: 10am - 4pm 
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm 
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm, 2:30pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm 
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services