Use research guides to identify databases, websites, treatises, and other subject sources for your research. There are numerous specialized legal research guides on international law research. Some research guides include definitions and explanations, others are just a list with links. You can find links to legal resources and databases, but you will need an Emory login (or in some cases, an individual Westlaw or Lexis password) for subscription databases.
Emory Research Guides:
Emory Law Library Research Guides include guides on the European Union, International Humanitarian Law, Human Rights Advocacy, Human Rights Jurisprudence, International Environmental law, Institutions and Growth, the United Nations, and legal research for SJD students.
Emory University Library Research Guides by subject include International, Political Science, and various regional studies.
Other Research Guides:
NYU GlobaLex International Law Guides
Peace Palace Library Research Guides
Guide to International Legal Research on Lexis
NYU Law Library Research Guides
Georgetown Law Library Research Guides on Foreign & International Law
University of Minnesota Law Library Research Guides
University of Oxford Bodleian Libraries Guides to Public International Law
Tutorials:
Duke Law Library International Legal Research Tutorial
CALI Lessons on International Law include CISG Basics, Climate Change, Copyright and Trademark, Customary International Law, European Union, International Court of Justice, and Intergovernmental Organizations.
Print Resources in Reserves:
International and Foreign Legal Research by
International and Foreign Legal Research: A Coursebook emphasizes legal research strategies applicable across the landscape of research sources. Topics covered in the book range from a general chapter on basic concepts to five chapters on particular subjects of international law. Each major aspect of research, such as using periodical indexes, is treated once in depth. Elsewhere in the book, other sections refer readers to that in-depth treatment, while adding information specific to the topic being discussed.
Principles of International Law by 
Principles of Legal Research by 
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by International Law and international organizations use specialized terminology and acronyms. You may need definitions and explanations as you do your research.
International Law Dictionaries and Glossaries:
Parry & Grant's Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law in the Oxford Reference Library database
Doebbler's Dictionary of Public International Law on ProQuest Ebook Central
Fox's Dictionary of International & Comparative Law (Law Library Reference Desk KZ1161 .F69 2003)
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law includes a Glossary (on Oxford Public International Law)
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law include definitions and defining documents with articles
United Nations Terminology:
United Nations Treaty Reference Guide and Glossary: Terms relating to treaty actions
UNTERM: United Nations Terminology Database. Official terminology relevant to the work of the United Nations, in the six official UN languages
UN Dag Hammarskjold Library Research Guide: Links to terminology resources
Specialized Areas of International Law:
EUR-Lex Glossary of Summaries: Terms in the EUR-Lex Summaries of EU Legislation, with links to legislation
World Trade Organization Glossary: Terminology from the WTO, some with links to WTO pages for more information
US Trade Representative: Glossary of Trade Terms
ICRC Glossary of Terms Used in Humanitarian Law
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):*
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
*Labor Day Weekend Hours:
Friday, August 30: 8am-6pm
Sat-Sun: Closed
Monday, September 1: Noon-6pm
Reference Desk:*
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
*Closed Monday, Sept. 1st.
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
