Children's Law and Juvenile Justice

The following study aids provide an overview of the rights of minors, the juvenile justice system, an explanation of status offenses (CHINS), deprivation (dependency), juvenile court procedure and jurisdiction, juvenile detention, legislation, foster care, and adoption.

The most recent editions of the following titles are available in print and held on reserve at MacMillan Law Library’s Service Desk on the 2^nd floor:

Use discover-E, Emory University Libraries’ online catalog and multi-functional search tool to search Emory’s holdings at all campus libraries. 

Treatises on Westlaw

• Thomas Jacobs & Natalie Jacobs, Children and the Law: Rights and Obligations (Current through May 2019): This multi-volume set offers an extensive analysis of legal issues affecting children, including child welfare, adoption, guardianship, termination of parental rights and juvenile delinquency.
• Thomas R. Young, Legal Rights of Children (Current through Nov. 2019): This treatise includes a table of cases and table of laws/rules pertinent to children, including rights of handicapped children, discrimination, child pornography, and other legal issues. Also in print, KF479 .L442, Vol. 1 and 2, located on the 4^th Floor, MacMillan Law Library.
• Samuel M. Davis, Rights of Juveniles. The Juvenile Justice System, 2d. (Current through March 2019): Provides comprehensive information on juvenile justice procedures, the constitutionality of juvenile execution, and jurisdictional issues.  This treatise includes a 50-state juvenile law survey.  Also in print, KF9794.R548, located on 4^th Floor, MacMillan Law Library.
• Ann M. Haralambie, Handling Child Custody, Abuse & Adoption Cases (Current through Dec. 2018): Abuse, termination of parental rights and family law topics are explored in this treatise.

Treatises on Lexis

• Michael J. Dale, Representing the Client-Child (Current through October 2019): Provides guidance to attorneys on the emancipation of minors and the representation and legal rights of court-involved children.

Forms (Print, Westlaw, and Lexis)

• Mark H. Murphy, Georgia Juvenile Practice and Procedure: With Forms (2019-2020).  Also available in print, KFG598 .G46, Reference, 2^nd floor. 
• Georgia Pleading, Practice and Legal Forms Annotated (Brown, Current through Nov. 2019)). Available on Westlaw.
• Library of Georgia Family Law Forms (Current through July 2015). Available on Lexis.

eBook and Print Treatises

Call numbers for books related to children’s legal issues and juvenile justice are KF479, KF540-550, and KF9771-9827.  The below selected books are all located on the 4^th Floor of MacMillan Law Library, unless otherwise noted:

• Committee on Assessing Juvenile Justice Reform, Reforming Juvenile Justice: A Developmental Approach (2013): KF9779 .R42
• Children’s Advocacy Institute, University of San Diego School of Law, A Child’s Right to Counsel: A National Report Card on Legal Representation for Abused & Neglected Children (2012): KF479. F742
• Nancy E. Dowd, ed., Justice for Kids: Keeping Kids out of the Juvenile Justice System (2011): KF9779 .J87
• Samuel M. Davis, Children’s Rights Under the Law (2011): KF479 .D385
• Sandra Simkins, When Kids Get Arrested: What Every Adult Should Know (2009): KF9779 .S54
• Barbara Bennett Woodhouse, Hidden in Plain Sight: The Tragedy of Children’s Rights from Ben Franklin to Lionel Tate (2008): KF479 .W66
• Martha Albertson Fineman and Karen Worthington, editors, What is Right for Children?: The Competing Paradigms of Religion and Human Rights (2009): KF4783 .W43 (Available at MacMillan and Woodruff Libraries)

HeinOnline:  Full-text, fully-searchable compilation of law reviews, bar journals, federal materials, treaties, international resources and more.  Documents are organized into “libraries” (or collections) and presented in PDF format.  Examples of law reviews and journals dedicated to child welfare and juvenile justice include:

• Family Advocate: published by the American Bar Association, Section of Family Law
• Journal of Law and Family Studies: University of Utah College of Law 
• Juvenile and Family Court Journal: National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
• UC Davis Journal of Juvenile Law & Policy: University of California
• University of Louisville Law Review – Family Law Journal
• Whittier Journal of Child and Family Advocacy: Whittier Law School

Research Guides  

• International Justice Resource Center:  Provides online resources on the framework and developments in human rights law, training on international human rights protection, and advocacy and litigation support.
• Research Guide for the Immigrant Child Advocacy Center:  The University of Chicago D’Angelo Law Library

Practitioner-focused Web Resources - Georgia

• Council of Juvenile Court Judges
• The Office of the Child Advocate
• Reference Manuals for Working with Child Deprivation Cases in Georgia's Juvenile Courts:
  • A Reference Manual For Attorney and Volunteer Guardians Ad Litem
  • A Reference Manual For Attorneys Representing Parents
  • A Reference Manual For Special Assistant Attorneys General

American Bar Association 

• ABA Center on Children and the Law:  This site has been tailored to address the research and practice needs of attorneys and judges who handle abuse, neglect, and delinquency cases.
• ABA Standards of Practice for Lawyers Who Represent Children in Abuse and Neglect Cases

National

• National Association of Counsel for Children
• National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges