Skip to main content

Political Science 394: Immigration Law and Politics: Locating Books and Articles

Highlighted Content

DiscoverE

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries. Please note that if you see any items with LC-CLASS, these items are held at the Law Library.

 

Contact Information

Chris Palazzolo, PhD (Make an appointment here)

Political Science Databases

Intro

  • Hein Online
    • Hein Online is the JSTOR of legal research; i.e., it archives full text of major legal journals.  Click on the "law library" link on the homepage to search the law reviews.  It is recommended to search using the title field.  Once an article of interest has been found, click on the "download options" to create a PDF and print selected articles.  All the journals included in the database are also in eJournals.
  • LexisNexis Legal
    • On the left tab, click on "US Legal" and then "Law Reviews."  You can limit by specific types of law, or leave your search open.  All the journals included in the database are also in eJournals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource; however, be sure to change your settings and library links (in the left hand corner) and add in Emory as your institution so that you can more easily connect to Emory subscribed content. The "Web of Science" citations are particularly useful. Search among the cited articles to find relevant content.

Google Scholar's strengths are that it is multidisciplinary, easy to search and provides a quick way to locate articles which cite other articles.

Google Scholar Search