Helpful databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowSource of reference for major scientific disciplines. Useful to identify and locate primary research material, videos, and teaching material.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowAccess international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present, fully indexed.
- MEDLINE [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's database indexing literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text of Elsevier journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Advanced search techniques
- Identify keywords, synonyms, and alternative search terms.
- Search several databases.
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or refine results.
- Use wildcard character (*) to search for related terms.
- Follow "cited by" trails in bibliographies or on Google Scholar.
- Set up an account or folder within a database to save materials.
- Set up search alerts to keep track of most current research.
What about Google Scholar?
Google Scholar may point you to scholarly articles that are accessible in the library databases. If you find an article, follow the prompt that says "Full Text at Emory."
Note: You may use the same search tools used in databases and Library Search (i.e. Boolean Operators, key terms, etc.) in Google Scholar!
Tip: Link Google Scholar to Emory Libraries!
- Navigate to settings
- Select Library links
- Type Emory University
- Search and select checkbox "Find it @ Emory"
- Save
