Research Guides: HIST 190-2: Sex and Violence in the Middle Ages: Finding Secondary Sources

Full-text databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.

Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
ACLS Humanities E-Book

The book titles are full-length, searchable, and have been recommended and reviewed by scholars. Contains works of significance to their field useful resources for scholars and students.
Historical Abstracts

Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
International Medieval Bibliography
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medieval.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Contains a bibliography composed of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance from 400 to 1700. Citations for books, journal material, dissertation abstracts and essays are included.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.

Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Other Resources

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications. Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.

Franciscan Women: History and Culture
"This web database aims at providing in-depth information on Poor Clares, female Franciscan Tertiaries and aligned groups from the thirteenth through the eighteenth centuries."
Mapping Margery Kempe:Guide to Late Medieval Material and Spiritual Life
"Margery Kempe's spiritual biography is often called the first autobiography in English. A married woman who attempted to live a life devoted to Christ, Margery sought official Church recognition for her status as a spiritual woman and mystic, while continuing to live and travel in the secular world. She experienced intense emotional visionary encounters with Christ, which have at times a strikingly homely quality. Her Book, dictated by her to a scribe, records these visions as well as her travels in Europe and pilgrimage to Jerusalem."
Monastic Matrix
"The project draws on both textual and material sources, primary and secondary, although its basis is unpublished archival evidence. It addresses a variety of individuals and groups in medieval Europe, and a range of ecclesiastical institutions, including monastic houses of every size, affiliation, and rule. Our editorial intentions in selecting and presenting material are both scholarly and pedagogical."