Electricity
"Warhol's Light Bulbs" by zetson is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 
.
Subject Guide
phone: 404-727-8932
email: kmajors@emory.edu
I assist students and faculty with research and class projects. Feel free to contact me for an appointment.
Getting Started
This web page is designed to walk you through the steps to research your topic. Here's what it covers:
1. Start with the targeted Google search engine programmed for energy research below.
2. If you need more, see the list of sites to find Articles via Emory's Subscriptions for finding newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
3. Emory librarians buy print and online books and you can find them in one place at Library search. Type in the specific power source (e.g. wind energy) or study broader terms like renewable energy sources. For additional search tips see Searching for Books below.
4. Contact Environmental Sciences librarian, Kristan, for research questions, problems accessing subscriptions, and brainstorming more options.
Energy: A Google Programmed Search
Learn the major U.S. federal government agencies, international agencies, and some other organizations studying energy resources. This search focuses on 30+ websites.
Search tips:
1. The ads are NOT a part of the programmed search, scroll down to see the results.
2. Prioritize your keywords. Energy source type first. Separate extra details about the power you need by AND. Example: solar AND life cycle.
3. Contact the Environmental Sciences librarian for additional search options or questions.
Articles via Emory's Subscriptions
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window Access geoscience literature from around the world, including articles, books, maps, papers, and more.
- ABI/Inform Complete (at ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access business and management journals and trade magazines from U.S. and international sources. Includes full text journals, dissertations, working papers, and popular business and economics periodicals.
- FAQs on Journal Use at Emory See FAQs on accessing Emory's subscriptions.
Searching For Books In Library Search
From Library Search:
- Type in your keywords
- When you get some results, use "Refine Search Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more.
Too many search results?
- Add additional terms to your search
- Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using Library Search's drop-down menus
- Use Library Search's "Limit Your Search" feature (in the left column)
Too few results?
- Remove some terms from your search
- Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)
Off-topic results?
- Try using the advanced search
- Ask a librarian for help
You can access your account to see what items you currently have checked out, when they are due, and to renew them. Click the "My Library Card" button in the upper-right corner of Library Search to log in, or click here.