Core Secondary Source Databases
Getting Started with Your Search for Articles: Modern history research will generally require one or both of the following databases. They can be searched simultaneously or separately:
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
Subject Specific Article Databases and Other Relevant Databases
Subject Specific Article Databases: If you would like to search article databases in your research areas, please click on one or more of the subject guide links below relevant to your research area.
- China Academic Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from Chinese academic journals, including publications from the PRC.
Instructions (Please read carefully before attempting access):
The China Academic Journals landing page takes you to Emory's subscribed content. Select a subject in the Classification filter on the left of the screen or search for subjects/keywords/journal title/article title/etc. in the search boxes to browse content. - Dissertations of China in Humanities and Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowDissertations Access dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980.of China is the most comprehensive collections of dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980. As of Feb. 2014, it contains over 2088 million full-text or abstract records, in which nearly 750,000 full-text records are in the subject areas of humanities and social science.
Finding Specific Journal Articles
Finding Specific Journal Articles: If you already have the complete bibliographic information for the journal articles that you need, you can search them by the journal titles.
Don't forget - print bibliographies and indexes, especially for older scholarship, may also be useful.