Research Guides: ANT 385: Energy, Environment, and Culture in Africa: Documentary Photographs, Sound, and Film

Images

There are extensive image and photography resources available. See the African Studies Research Guide: Primary Sources for more detailed information. Some key sites include:

Africa South of the Sahara: Contemporary Photographs
An extensive list of image sources from Stanford Libraries.
Africa South of the Sahara: Historical Photographs
Extensive list of historical image sources from Stanford Libraries.
Artstor
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use.
Africa Through a Lens
Africa through a lens is an online collection of thousands of images taken from a broader photographic collection of Foreign and Commonwealth Office images, held at The National Archives. Starting in the 1860s, the collection spans over 100 years of African history and covers 20 countries.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
A project by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries and the African Studies Program, Madison, Wisconsin. This site offers downloadable images, sound files, and other materials on Africa drawn from contributions by UWM faculty over the last 20-30 years.

Music

See the African Studies Research Guide for a list of music resources at Emory. This guide includes lists of streaming music databases, reference resources, tips for finding CDs and LPs.

DVDs and Streaming Media

Search the library catalog first - All DVDs and streaming media titles are indexed by discoverE. Also see the African Studies Research Guide: Films for additional resources beyond Emory.

Ethnographic and Documentary Film Databases at Emory:

Ethnographic Video Online
Collection of documentary films in streaming video format for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
Kanopy Streaming Media
Hundreds of classic and contemporary ethnographic films from around the world.
Docuseek2
Docuseek2 is an streaming video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.

Emory also owns many DVDs related to anthropology and African Studies. These are included in discoverE, but may be difficult to identify. Contact the Anthropology Librarian if you need help identifying films on your topic.