ANT 385: Energy, Environment, and Culture in Africa

All Africa.com provides access to current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected Africa-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997.

Historical Sources:

• African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
  Includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep new coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa. News and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more.
• World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers

  Contains newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in various countries in Africa, including Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and more.

Factiva
Similar to Lexis-Nexis Academic, Factiva is primarily a news database. You can search approximately 8,000 publications in 22 languages (as well as 9,000 Web sites). Great for getting the local perspective on your issue by reading the local newspapers from countries around the world.

World News Connection
A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

Primary source information on Africa can be found in the publications of the United States government, the United Nations, various international organizations, and the publications of colonial powers such as Great Britain. See the African Studies Research Guide: Primary Sources for a more detailed list of print, microform, and electronic sources. These sources can be more difficult to access and use so check with a Librarian if you need help.

Two places to start:

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966. Access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This collection of official documents covers almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa. Part of Archives Direct from Adam Matthew which draws on resources from the British National Archives.

British Online Archives contains a variety of of government documents including selected Blue Books for various colonies. Blue Books are important annual documents containing statistics and the general status of each colony prepared by the colonial governor.

Emory also has extensive collections of British parliamentary papers in various formats. See the British Parliamentary Papers Guide for more information.