Research Guides: ARTHIST 226 Arts of the Ancient Andes (Main): Databases & Museums

Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Access records describing the literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Access the Hispanic American Periodicals Index for journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
International Bibliography of Art (see also BHA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes of journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues. Focuses on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Michael Carlos Museum and other Collections

Michael C. Carlos Museum Collections
The Carlos Museum's collection of art of the ancient Americas is substantial with all three principal cultural centers of the Americas represented: Mesoamerica, Central America, and the Andes.
Dumbarton Oaks Studies in Pre-Columbian Art and Archaeology
The Pre-Columbian Studies program at Dumbarton Oaks was founded in 1963 to support the study of the art and archaeology of the ancient Americas
Jay I. Kislak Collection
Incas and their predecessors were located in the Central Andes (Peru-Bolivia). The cultures adapted to the dry desert coast, such as the Moche, Chimu, and Nazca, contrasted with such Andean highland-adapted cultures as the Huari and Inca. The earliest civilization, Chavin, is comparable in age and precociousness to the Olmec in Mexico.
Lowe Art Museum, Art of the Ancient Americas
Architectural elements, pottery, textiles, and archaeological objects of native North, Central, and South America dating from 2500 BCE to the period of European contact beginning in 1492
Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology - Cambridge, MA (Harvard University)
Collections from South America derive primarily from Peru, but also include small regional collections from other parts of the Continent.