Browsing a few research guides is a great way to begin creating a plan for your work. Research guides can quickly point you to reliable sources in an area of law or policy that isn’t yet completely familiar.
Emory Law Library Research Guides:
Other research guides:
Study Aids on reserve:
Study aids can be a quick way to get background in a subject area, find information on treaties and international organizations, and learn terminology for searching in databases.
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by 
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by 
Public International Law in a Nutshell by 
Understanding International Law by 
Principles of International Law by 
International Law Frameworks by 
Environmental Law in a Nutshell by 
Examples & Explanations: Environmental Law by 
Climate Change Law by CALI Lesson: Researching International Environmental Law: This lesson will acquaint you with the sources of international environmental law, and give you strategies for researching it.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law: Detailed articles on international law topics, with citations, document lists, and bibliographies. Includes links to documents and the Oxford Law Citator
Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law: Twelve-volume set, still in progress, on environmental law. Chapters cover treaties, international law, and national legal systems. Includes citations and some links to primary and secondary sources.
CRS Reports: Congressional Research Reports cover US legislative and foreign policy topics. Search for reports on environmental law and treaties in EveryCRSReport.com and in ProQuest Congressional.
The websites of international organizations related to environmental law include publications, reports, data, news, and links to primary documents.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
European Commission Directorate-General for Environment
Centre for International Sustainable Development Law (CISDL)
International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)
UN Sustainable Development Goals
Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:
Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (April 1 - May 3, 2024):
Monday - Thursday: 7:30am - 2am
Friday: 7:30am - Midnight
Saturday: 10am - Midnight
Sunday: 10am - 2am
Reference Desk:
Monday - Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10:30am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
