Research Guides: African Studies Research Guide: Music

Music

Reference Sources

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of more than 700 articles covering the music of the world's peoples, from the earliest known traditions to current practices. It encompasses articles on geographic areas, nations, and ethnic groups, as well as discussion of trends and issues in scholarship. Also includes streaming audio examples.
Grove Music Online (through Oxford Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Principal starting place for music research. Covers all styles, periods, and geographic regions. Part of Oxford Music Online.

Physical Media (CDS & LPS)

Emory has over 22,000 Audio CDs, 10,000 LPs, and 27,000 DVDs, many of which cannot found through online streaming. In addition, physical media contains a wealth of information about the recording often not found on the internet or streaming services.

For example, one physical-only title that is invaluable to ethnographic research is the JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance, a collection of 30 DVDs containing over 500 performances from 100 countries. 1200 pages of text in 9 books accompany the 30-volume set, all stored on a CD-ROM in PDF form. Call numbers: DVD 27551–27580.

Find physical media through Library Search and check out at the Music and Media Library desk.

Streaming Music Databases

Naxos Music Library: World This link opens in a new window
Stream music from different cultures around the world, centering on the complete Smithsonian Folkways catalog while also providing thousands of additional recordings from other labels.
Alexander Street Press Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
A streaming music database comprising of a wide variety of music: classical, American song, jazz, popular, contemporary world music, and historical world music from the Smithsonian Folkways label. Many albums are also discoverable via Library Search, but not all.