Researching Organizations
Getting Background on NGOS and non-profits is an important part of your job search. Below are resources that can assist you in doing this work.
- Guidestar: A database that provides data on thousands numbers of non-profits, The searchable data Guidestar provides includes revenue, organizational overview, annual reports, lists of officers and other key personnel, and access to IRS 990s. You'll want to sign-in with your Emory ID and password to access the full capabilities of Guidestar. (Email Melissa Hackman for help navigating this database.)
- Foundation Directory: A philanthropic database that provides program details on thousands of foundations and grants. You'll want to sign-in with your Emory ID and password.
- Charity Navigator: A website that examines and rates non-profit financial health. Evaluates organizational accountability and transparency.
- Glassdoor: Provides information on salaries and employee reviews of companies.
- Devex: A website that provides regular updates on development organizations, issues, and has an extensive job bank.
Humanitarian Resources on Places to Work
- UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. The UN iLibrary currently consists of publications regarding human rights, climate change, economic and social development, international peace and security, international law, and public health.
- The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Twitter Job Listings
- @devaidjobs
- @GCFjobs
- @UNjobs
- @Indevjobs
Making Connections
International Development Jobs for Young Professionals
- 177,000+ members.
- Look for jobs, advice, and the inside scoop on organizations.
- Group is closed but easy to get into.
Corporate Social Responsibility Search Tools
- AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new windowCreate custom target lists from 30 million U.S. business profiles. Sortable by geography, industry, size, and more. Limited to domestic companies.
- Standard and Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new windowContains industry surveys on topics such as current environment, trends, and industry operations.
- UniWorld This link opens in a new windowCreate custom lists of domestic and international firms with a presence globally in 200+ countries. Results can be downloaded to Excel. Note: There is no walk-in access for this title.
A great resource to check out is the Business Research Guide. It offers tools and directions on best searching practices in business-related databases.
Books on NGO Cultures and Jobs
Negotiating at the United Nations: A Practitioner's Guide by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781138590410Publication Date: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2019.
Spaces of Aid: How Cars, Compounds and Hotels Shape Humanitarianism by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1783603518Publication Date: Zed Books, 2015.
The Vulnerable Humanitarian by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781000432527Publication Date: Routledge, 2021.
The Practice of International Development by Call Number: HC60 .P676 2018ISBN: 9781466586727Publication Date: Routledge, 2017.
Handbook of Research on NGOs by Call Number: JZ4841 .H36 2018ISBN: 9781785361678Publication Date: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2018.
