Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed by ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05For more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style 17th Ed.The Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) is commonly used in the arts and humanities and covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation.
The 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style was published in September 2017. It includes some notable changes:
- No longer use ibid.
- E-mail is now email.
- Internet is now internet.
- Offers a citation for Twitter
Book, Bibliography:
Getz-Preziosi, Pat. Personal Styles in Early Cycladic Sculpture. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2001.
Book, Footnote:
1. Pat Getz-Preziosi, Personal Styles in Early Cycladic Sculpture (Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2001), 15.
Craxton, John and Peter Warren. "A Neocycladic Harpist?." In Material Engagements: Studies in Honour of Colin Renfrew, edited by Neil Brodie and C. Hills, 109-113. Cambridge: McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, 2004.
Book Chapter, Footnote:
1. John Craxton and Peter Warren. "A Neocycladic Harpist?," in Material Engagements: Studies in Honour of Colin Renfrew, ed. Neil Brodie and C. Hills (Cambridge: McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, 2004), 109.
Journal Article, Bibliography:
Gill, David W. J., and Christopher Chippindale. "Material and Intellectual Consequences of Esteem for Cycladic Figures." American Journal of Archaeology 97, no. 4 (1993): 601-59. Accessed September 9, 2017. http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716.
Journal Article, Footnote:
1. David W. J. Gill and Christopher Chippindale. "Material and Intellectual Consequences of Esteem for Cycladic Figures," American Journal of Archaeology 97, no. 4 (1993): 601, accessed September 9, 2017, http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716.
Website, Bibliography:
"Marble Seated Lyre Player." Metropolitan Museum of Art. Accessed September 9, 2017. http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587.
Website, Footnote:
"Marble Seated Lyre Player," Metropolitan Museum of Art, accessed September 9, 2017, http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587.
APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 1433805618Publication Date: 2009-07-15The "Publication Manual" is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators. Although it is specifically designed to help writers in the behavioral sciences and social sciences, anyone who writes non-fiction prose can benefit from its guidance. The newly-revised Sixth Edition has not only been rewritten. It has also been thoroughly rethought and reorganized, making it the most user-friendly "Publication Manual" the APA has ever produced. You will be able to find answers to your questions faster than ever before. When you need advice on how to present information, including text, data, and graphics, for publication in any type of format--such as college and university papers, professional journals, presentations for colleagues, and online publication--you will find the advice you're looking for in the "Publication Manual."
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style GuideAPA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Book:
Getz-Preziosi, P. (2001). Personal styles in early cycladic sculpture. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press.
Craxton, J. & Warren, P. (2004). "A neocycladic harpist?." In N. Brodie & C. Hills (Eds.), Material engagements: studies in honour of Colin Renfrew (109-113). Cambridge: McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research.
Journal Article:
Gill, D.W. J. & C. Chippindale. (1993). "Material and intellectual consequences of esteem for cycladic figures." American Journal of Archaeology, 97(4), 601-59. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716.
Website:
"Marble seated lyre player." Metropolitan Museum of Art. Retrieved from http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587.
In-Text Citations:
Getz-Preziosi (2001) believes...
Craxton and Warren (2004) say...
Other scholars have also written about the consequences of esteem for cycladic figures (Dill and Chippindale, 1993, p. 601).
MLA Style
MLA Handbook by Call Number: 808.207 M6859mISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style.
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideMLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Book:
Getz-Preziosi, Pat. Personal Styles in Early Cycladic Sculpture. University of Wisconsin Press, 2001.
Craxton, John, and Peter Warren. "A Neocycladic Harpist?." Material Engagements: Studies in Honour of Colin Renfrew, edited by Neil Brodie and C. Hills, McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, 2004, 109-113.
Journal Article:
Gill, David W. J., and Christopher Chippindale. "Material and Intellectual Consequences of Esteem for Cycladic Figures." American Journal of Archaeology, vol. 97, no. 4, 1993, pp. 601-59, http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716. Accessed 9 Sept. 2017.
Website:
"Marble Seated Lyre Player." Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587. Accessed 9 Sept. 2017.
In-text Citations:
Getz-Preziosi discusses personal styles in early Cycladic sculpture (15).
This text discusses personal styles in early Cycladic sculpture (Getz-Preziosi 15).
APSA Style
You can also try the American Political Science Association's Style Manual for Political Science. Based on Chicago Style, APSA is used for scholarly work in political science.
- APSA Style ManualMany prominent Political Science journals require citation in APSA style.
- APSA Citation GuideQuick reference guide for citing in APSA style from High Point University Libraries.