Research Guides: Politics of Public Health: Recommended Databases for Politics of Public Health Topics

Key Databases for Public Health

Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new window
This is an ESSENTIAL resource for public health topics--rich discovery functionality, along with citation searching, great for interdisciplinary topics
It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of economics-related literature. Includes indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, and covers both economic theory and application.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.
Public Affairs Information Service Index (PAIS) This link opens in a new window
Also contains significant government documents and grey literarture

ELDIS
Eldis is a gateway to global development information. Provided by the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, UK, Eldis aims to provide the best in development, policy, practice and research. Offers free access to materials on developing countries, including broad topic guides (education, climate, health, agriculture, poverty, trade, etc.) or country profiles. Includes up-to-date news, a searchable website, and nearly 15,700 free full-text documents.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides citation information for most books and articles in its database. Unlike the other databases, it includes books and working and conference papers. Note that the citation figures provided by Google Scholar may differ widely from other databases, such as Web of Science, for a number of reasons (which we will not go into here!). Please be sure to go under "settings" and click on "library links." Then enter in Emory into the search box. Doing this will allow to link directly to Emory subscription content.