The Emory Libraries Wikipedia Group was awarded an Innovation Grant to complete scholarly Wikipedia projects and build a relationship between Emory and the Wikipedia community. You can read about the grant-funded activities here.
One of the biggest pieces of our grant is the creation of a student position titled Wikipedian in Residence. Many other institutions, like the British Museum (who piloted the role), the National Archives and Harvard, have hired a Wikipedian in Residence to empower their institution to contribute to Wikipedia and draw attention to the unique materials in their collections that can be used for creating and improving articles. Our goal is to have as much content created as possible as well as build the capacity to add to their work in the future.
The Wikipedian in Residence will work closely with special collections units at Emory and their materials to create and
contribute to Wikipedia articles on subjects pertaining to the collections. These collections include materials from the
Pitts Theology Library, Michael C. Carlos Museum, Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library,
Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library, and Oxford College Library. Additionally, the Wikipedian may collaborate on
training and presentations to Emory faculty, staff and students and build relationships with the Wikipedia community
for future contributions. The Wikipedian in Residence will have the opportunity to receive specialized training in
Wikipedia editing and policies.
Application is open to both undergraduate and graduate students with an interest in Wikipedia.
Responsibilities may include:
–Facilitating Wikipedia content improvement in partnership with special collections staff and Wikipedia communities.
–Organizing visits/events for local Wikipedia editors (Wikipedians) to access special collections and contribute article
content (such as tours and editing challenges.)
–Promoting Emory University collections to Wikipedians and the broader community.
–Using finding aids and researching special collections materials.
–Leading efforts to edit and fact-check Wikipedia articles.
–Leading training sessions on Wikipedia editing and best practices.
–Collaborating with the Emory Libraries Wikipedia Group on Wikipedia training and edit-a-thon events.
–Coordinating image or multimedia donations to the Wikimedia Commons.
Average hours per week: 10
September 1 - December