Background Resources
Use background sources, such as encyclopedias, textbooks, and Wikipedia, to:
- get an overview of the topic - what people are currently researching or thinking about in an area
- find new keywords to help you search more effectively
- identify citations used in the background source to find primary, scholarly literature on the topic
- Doing EconomicsDoing Economics is a unique, freely available, resource for learning a valuable array of data-handling, software and statistical skills that will be transferable to other courses and to the workplace.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowCredo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Credo Ready-Reference is a user interface that combines content from multiple publishers cross-referencing technology.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks Online provides access to electronic editions of Oxford Handbooks for economics and finance. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new windowOnline full text version of the 2008 edition of a standard, scholarly reference work in economics. Contains signed entries and essays from over 1,500 leading economists on an extensive range of topics. Regularly updated with new articles.