Adam Carr's Election Archive
Excellent link for electoral results around the world, with a special section on Australia. Results are for the most recent elections and are typically broken down into regions or the equivalent electoral constituency.
Armed Conflict Location and Event Data (ACLED)
ACLED "is a disaggregated conflict collection, analysis and crisis mapping project. ACLED collects the dates, actors, types of violence, locations, and fatalities of all reported political violence and protest events across Africa, South Asia, South East Asia, the Middle East, Europe, and Latin America. Political violence and protest includes events that occur within civil wars and periods of instability, public protest and regime breakdown."
Climate Change and African Political Stability (CCAPS)
The CCAPS project, which is hosted by the Strauss Center for International Security and Law at UT-Austin, is devoted to the study of the relationship between climate change and international/internal stability on the African continent. The project has produced various data collections such as the Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD), which provides event-level data on riots, coups, strikes, and other instances of social unrest, and the Armed Conflict Location and Event Dataset (ACLED), which provides event-level data on various types of armed conflict.
National Elections Across Democracy and Autocracy (NELDA)
The NELDA collection at Yale provide election-event-level data on the outcomes and characteristics of individual elections for national legislative and executive elections between 1960 and 2012. The data cover topics such as the presence of election monitors, measures of electoral manipulation, and whether there was any post-election violence.
Quality of Government (QOG) Institute
The QOG Institute is hosted by members of the Department of Political Science at Göteborg University in Sweden and is devoted to "the causes, consequences and nature of 'good governance.'" The Institute has created multiple collections of data on governance: a broad collection of governance indicators that is global in coverage; a more narrow collection that focuses on social policy in wealthier countries; data from expert surveys on politicization and professionalization of public administration in individual countries, and a new data collection on perceptions of corruption in individual regions within EU members. The data are compiled from multiple sources, including the Polity Project, the Cingarelli-Richards Human Rights Data, Transparency International, Freedom House, various international organizations, and datasets produced by various academics. The QoG data are available in SPSS, Stata, and comma-delimited (.csv) formats.
World Bank Governance Data
The World Bank hosts a website devoted to research on governance and institutional quality and their relevance for economic development and performance. As part of its efforts in this area, the Bank collects and distributes data on a variety of aspects of governance and institutional quality. Of particular interest may be the Worldwide Governance Indicators, which score countries in areas such as control of corruption and regulatory quality, and the firm-level surveys such as the Enterprise Surveys. The Bank's GovData360 Portal and GovData Datasets also brings together hundreds of governance-related indicators from multiple data sources and makes them available via tools for downloading and visualization.
World Values Surveys Series (WVS)
The WVS is a widely-cited series of international surveys conducted in a wide range of countries in which respondents are asked about their attitudes on various social, economic, and political topics such as trust in various institutions, views on ideal forms of government, and notions of identity and equality.