Databases
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Chinese Studies This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Chinese studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Philosophy This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of philosophy. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowContains a large number of journals and magazines covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.
Journals
Philosophy East and West
Promoting academic literacy on non-Western traditions of philosophy, Philosophy East and West has for over half a century published the highest-quality scholarship that locates these cultures in their relationship to Anglo-American philosophy. Philosophy defined in its relationship to cultural traditions broadly integrates the professional discipline with literature, science, and social practices. Each issue includes debates on issues of contemporary concern and critical reviews of the most recent publications.
Dao: A Journal of Comparative Philosophy
The Journal is dedicated to publishing quality articles and reviews of books in Chinese philosophy, particularly those relating Chinese philosophy to other philosophical traditions in the world, including but not limited to Western philosophy, Islamic philosophy, African philosophy, Indian philosophy, Japanese philosophy, and Korean philosophy, as well as articles on theories and methodologies of comparative philosophy. All articles are peer-reviewed.
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
Since 1936 the Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (HJAS) has without interruption published outstanding original research and in-depth reviews of books about China, Japan, Korea, and Inner Asia. HJAS publishes the highest-quality scholarship in a multidisciplinary forum that includes premodern and modern literature, art history, and religious studies; digital humanities; premodern history and social science; and modern history and humanistic social science through the mid-twentieth century.
Journal of Confucian Philosophy and Culture
JCPC is the only peer-reviewed, English language journal dedicated exclusively to research concerning the history and contemporary relevance of Confucianism.
The Journal of East Asian Philosophy
The aim of this journal is fourfold. First, it examines the reception of and confrontations with Western philosophy in East Asia. Secondly, it promotes the dialogue between various philosophical discourse and traditions in East Asia. Thirdly, it explores the potential of East Asian philosophy comprehensively. Fourthly, it attempts to articulate the history of East Asian philosophy.
Aims at enhancing the communication & exchange between Inter-Asia & other regions of the cultural studies world.
Devoted to the study of Chinese philosophy and Chinese thought in all phases and stages of development.
An international journal of Buddhist, Chinese, Indian, Islamic, Japanese and Persian philosophical traditions. Articles on metaphysics, philosophy of mind, epistemology, logic, and moral and social philosophy.
This wide ranging journal is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand the diverse themes and influences that shape Chinese thought today. It features translations of the most current and influential Chinese writings on all aspects of philosophical endeavor, from theoretical essays on systems to studies of China's cultural and religious development, from interpretations of the Chinese classics to exegeses on Marxist thought.
The Journal of Indian Philosophy publishes articles on various aspects of classical and modern Indian thought. Coverage ranges from close analysis of individual philosophical texts to detailed annotated translations of texts. The journal also publishes more speculative discussions of philosophical issues based on a close reading of primary sources.
Materials
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by Covers the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section provides comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. Also contains useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.
Eastern Philosophy for Beginners by ISBN: 9781934389072Publication Date: 2007-08-21
Dao Companion to Classical Confucian Philosophy by ISBN: 9789048129355Publication Date: 2013-11-07This volume presents both a historical and a systematic examination of the philosophy of classical Confucianism. Taking into account newly unearthed materials and the most recent scholarship, it features contributions by experts in the field, ranging from senior scholars to outstanding early career scholars. The book first presents the historical development of classical Confucianism, detailing its development amidst a fading ancient political theology and a rising wave of creative humanism. It examines the development of the philosophical ideas of Confucius as well as his disciples and his grandson Zisi, the Zisi-Mencius School, Mencius, and Xunzi. Together with this historical development, the book analyzes and critically assesses the philosophy in the Confucian Classics and other major works of these philosophers. The second part systematically examines such philosophical issues as feeling and emotion, the aesthetic appreciation of music, wisdom in poetry, moral psychology, virtue ethics, political thoughts, the relation with the Ultimate Reality, and the concept of harmony in Confucianism. The Philosophy of Classical Confucianism offers an unparalleled examination to the philosophers, basic texts and philosophical concepts and ideas of Classical Confucianism as well as the recently unearthed bamboo slips related to Classical Confucianism. It will prove itself a valuable reference to undergraduate and postgraduate university students and teachers in philosophy, Chinese history, History, Chinese language and Culture.
Chinese and Tibetan Esoteric Buddhism by ISBN: 9789004340497Publication Date: 2017-04-13Bringing together leading authorities in the fields of Chinese and Tibetan Studies alike, Chinese and Tibetan Esoteric Buddhism engages cutting-edge research on the fertile tradition of Esoteric Buddhism (also known as Tantric Buddhism). This state of the art volume unfolds the sweeping impact of esoteric Buddhism on Tibetan and Chinese cultures, and the movement's role in forging distinct political, ethnical, and religious identities across Asia at large. Deciphering the oftentimes bewildering richness of esoteric Buddhism, this broadly conceived work exposes the common ground it shares with other Buddhist schools, as well as its intersection with non-Buddhist faiths. As such, the book is a major contribution to the study of Asian religions and cultures. Contributors are: Yael Bentor, Ester Bianchi, Megan Bryson, Jacob Dalton, Hou Chong, Hou Haoran, Eran Laish, Li Ling, Lin Peiying, Lu Jianfu, Ma De, Dan Martin, Charles D. Orzech, Meir Shahar, Robert Sharf, Shen Weirong, Henrik H. Sorensen, and Yang Fuxue.
