Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Navigating Archives Topic Guide

Guide to finding and using archives beyond Emory.

Additional Resources

This page has links to a few resources we think are particularly useful, as well as a short selected bibliography of readings on archival literacy.

Bibliography

Selected Bibliography on Archival Basics

1.     Frisch, Scott A., Douglas B. Harris, and Sean Q. Kelly. Doing Archival Research in Political Science. Cambria Press, 2012.

2.     Gaillet, Lynee Lewis. “Archival Survival: Navigating Historical Research.” In Working in the Archives: Practical Research Methods for Rhetoric and Composition, edited by Ramsey, Alexis E., SIU Press, 2009.

3.    Schmidt, Laura. “Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research.” Society of American Archivists, 2013. http://www2.archivists.org/usingarchives

4.    Light,  Michelle. “Colophons and Annotations: New Directions for the Finding Aid.” American Archivist (Fall/Winter 2002): 216–30.

5.     Tirabassi, Katherine. “Journeying into the Archives.” In Working in the Archives: Practical Research Methods for Rhetoric and Composition, edited by Ramsey, Alexis E., SIU Press, 2009

6. "Using Archives: A Guide for the Inexperienced," Archives Hub. http://archiveshub.ac.uk/guides/usingarchives/