Research Guides: African American Newspapers Topic Guide: Books & Articles

Selected Indexes & Monographs

The African American Newspaper by Patrick S. Washburn; Clarence Page (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780810122901
Publication Date: 2006-12-21
The Black Press in the South, 1865 - 1970 by Henry L. Suggs
ISBN: 9780313222443
Publication Date: 1983-11-22
The African American Press by Charles A. Simmons
ISBN: 9780786426072
Publication Date: 2006-01-17
The Harvard Guide to African-American History
ISBN: 9780674002760
Publication Date: 2001-06-25

Online Guides

Find title lists of African American newspapers:

Journals

Try searching for newspaper titles or editors in these full-text databases and indexes:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Contains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.