Finding Books
Use Library Search, Emory libraries' new way to find library resources.
WorldCat
WorldCat is an online catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide. You can request any titles that Emory does not have by the Interlibrary Loan. You can not only loan books, but also articles and almost anything else from another library. It usually takes about two weeks to get the materials, so plan early.
You can also find TIPS on how to use scholarly resources and Emory libraries at Research FAQ's.
Contact me if you need individual help.
Finding Articles
Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET. All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room. The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.
The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journals atricles in the subject area of Chinese women in film and fiction, they are:
FIAF International Film Archive Database
It includes six databases, they are: Index Film Periodicals 1972-9/2007; Index TV Peridicals 1979-2006; List of Periodicals indexes, Treasures from the Film Archives; Fil/TV Documentation Collections, Fiaf Members Publications.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies. Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched. Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.
Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ... It includes the journal Late Imperial China.
This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
