discoverE Search Terms for Rose Library Collections
Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.
Helpful Search Terms for Rose Library Collections:
"African American Author"
"African American Illustrator"
"African American Pamphlet"
"African American Publisher"
Education
This guide identifies collections related to African Americans and education. The Rose Library at Emory University houses a diverse body of primary sources associated with the African American experience, from literature and history to politics and popular culture. These include an extensive collection of correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and ephemeral material as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.
The guide serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings related to African Americans and eduation with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in Rose Library and through DiscoverE, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog. DiscoverE contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in Rose Library as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University. The online catalog is available at http://discovere.emory.edu. Finding aids for these sources are also available through Rose Library's Web site at http://findingaids.library.emory.edu/. Please note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available.
Manuscripts A-Z
- Andrews, Viola P. (MSS 813)Papers of Viola P. Andrews, an African-American writer, columnist, and Sunday School teacher, and her family from 1957-1998. The papers include writings, correspondence, photographs, religious material, scrapbooks, and other miscellaneous papers. See also Literature, Religion.
- Bailey-Thurman Family Papers (MSS 807)Family papers of African American Baptist minister and church leader, Isaac G. and Susie E. Bailey and their daughter and son-in-law Sue Bailey and Howard Thurman and other members of the Bailey family. 1882-1995. American culture and art. See also Black Print Culture, Education, Religion.
- Bond, Horace Mann and Julia W. Bond Family Papers (MSS 1144)Family papers of Horace Mann Bond, African American educator, and Julia Washington Bond, including correspondence, research files, writings, photographs, and printed material. See also Family Papers.
- Branch, G. Murray (MSS 856)Audio recordings of sermons and lectures delivered primarily by Atlanta minister G. Murray Branch. 1952-76. See also Religion.
- Byas, Ulysses (MSS 1105)Educator and administrator. Papers include correspondence, subject files, writings, photographs and administrative records from the various schools and counties in which he worked, including Macon County, Alabama, and Roosevelt, New York. 1930-2008.
- Chisholm, Frank P. (MSS 808)Papers of the Frank Chisholm, Northern Field Representative for Tuskegee Institute, and his wife Helen James Chisholm including personal, professional, and biographical documents. 1864- 1994. See also Family Papers.
- Coan, Josephus Roosevelt (MSS 872)African Methodist Episcopal Church missionary to South Africa, bishop, and educator. Papers include correspondence, writings by Coan and others, diaries, notebooks, teaching files, photographs, printed material, and audiovisual material. 1886-2000. See also African Americans and Africa , Religion.
- Dove, Pearlie Craft (MSS 846)Papers of African American educator, Pearlie Craft Dove including correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, writings, and records relating to The Atlanta Project. 1958-96.
- Engram, Arizona (MSS 1106)Papers of African American teacher Arizona Engram, including correspondence, personal papers and printed material. 1922-25. See also Fraternal and Sororal Organizations.
- Fabre, Michel and Genevieve Archive of African American Arts and Letters (MSS 923)Michel Fabre archives of African American arts and letters, including correspondence, writings, and printed material relating to expatriate writers, artists, musicians, and cultural figures, as well as Fabre's personal and business correspondence, works authored by Fabre, research files, conference materials, photographs, and audiovisual materials. 1910-2003. See also Expatriate Writers and Artists, Literature, African American Theatre.
- Fowler, Manet Harrison (MSS 978)Papers of Manet Harrison Fowler, an African American musician and educator from Fort Worth, Texas. 1923-49.
- Harding, Vincent (MSS 868)Papers of African American historian and civil rights activist Vincent Harding documenting his work in Atlanta, Georgia, with the Mennonite Church, Spelman College, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Center; and the Institute of the Black World. See also Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movement.
- Harrison, Ira E. (MSS 1184)Papers of African American anthropologist Ira E. Harrison including photographs, writings, subject files, and printed material.
- Jackson, Esther (MSS 1205)Papers of Esther M. Jackson, an African American professor of theater and drama including teaching files, correspondence, writings, and printed material. See also Music, African American Theatre.
- Lewis, Sarah Evelyn (MSS 819)Papers of African American physician Sarah Evelyn Lewis including materials relating to her association with Howard University, correspondence, printed material, and photographs. 1920-40. See also Fraternal and Sororal Organizations.
- Lincoln Institute (Jefferson City, Missouri) (MSS 837)One bound volume containing the centennial exhibit prepared by Lincoln Institute for Missouri's educational exhibit at the 1876 Centennial Exhibition in Philadelphia. 1876.
- Mauney, Margaret Ann (MSS 1197)Collection of oral history interviews with Atlanta educators, conducted by Margaret Ann Mauney as part of the research for her dissertation Consciousness and Activism of Atlanta Teachers: Unionization and Desegregation, 1960-1990 (Emory University, 1997).
- Miller, Kelly (MSS 1050)Papers of African American intellectual and professor Kelly Miller, including correspondence, writings, subject files, printed material, photographs and other papers, in addition to the papers of his wife Annie Mae Miller, and children. 1894-1989. See also Family Papers, Literature.
- Mitchell, Henry H. and Ella Pearson (MSS 1018)Papers of African American professors and Baptist ministers, Henry H. and Ella Pearson Mitchell from 1981-2002. See also Religion.
- Peacock, Frances (MSS 857)Papers of African American educator, Frances Eleanor Peacock including a scrapbook containing photographs of Boylan-Haven School in Jacksonville, Florida, and the Mather Academy in Camden, South Carolina, correspondence, and photographs. 1927-37.
- Phillips, J.J. (MSS 970)Family papers of African American author, J. J. Phillips, including correspondence, writings, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual material. 1900-2001. See also Family Papers, Literature.
- Porter, James A. (MSS 1139)Papers of James A. Porter, African American artist and art historian, consisting primarily of research and correspondence files related to the publication of Modern Negro Art, and his tenure at Howard University. 1930-70. See also Art and Art History.
- Ransom, Reverdy C. (MSS 1043)Collection of material relating to Reverdy C. Ransom, an African American bishop in the African Methodist Episcopal Church. 1936-75. See also Religion.
- Record, Wilson (MSS 846)Collection of material relating to Reverdy C. Ransom, an African American bishop in the African Methodist Episcopal Church. 1936-75. See also Religion.
- Rowell, Arthur (MSS 1227)Papers of Arthur W. Rowell, an educator at Clark University, including correspondence, financial records, photographs, printed material, writings, and personal ephemera. 1886-1942.
- Scarborough, W.S. (William Sanders) (MSS 1021)Scrapbook concerning African American author, educator, and lecturer, W.S. Scarborough and Wilberforce University from 1890-1926.
- Simon, Walter Augustus (MSS 1057)Papers of Walter Augustus Simon, an African American artist and professor of art, including correspondence, certificates and awards, writings, lecture material, photographs, documents associated with his work as a cultural affairs officer, and printed material. See also Art and Art History.
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (MSS 917)Records of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools including executive committee and board of trustees minutes, reports, programs, and published proceedings. 1895-2003.
- Spence, Mary E. (MSS 811)Papers of educator Mary E. Spence and her father, Adam Knight Spence. See also Family Papers.
- Spencer, Rita Evelyn (MSS 1048)Papers of Rita Evelyn Spencer, an African American graduate of Talladega College including photographs of friends and family, two photograph albums, and a scrapbook from Talladega College.
- Stiles, Alice M. (MSS 1165)Correspondence of Alice M. Stiles, a teacher with the American Missionary Association. 1869-80.See also Religion.
- West Virginia Colored Institute (MSS 851)Photographs of West Virginia Colored Institute. See also Photography. 1921-23.
- Wiley, Bell Irvin (MSS 521)Papers of Emory history professor Bell Irvin Wiley, including correspondence, writings, and research files primarily consisting of materials pertaining to the Civil War. 1860-1980.
- Woodson, Carter Godwin (MSS 1040)Collection of materials relating to African American historian and editor Carter G.Woodson pertaining mostly to the Association for the Study of African-American Life and History (ASAALH), Associated Publishers, and Journal of Negro History. 1876-1999.
- Yarbrough, Dean S. (MSS 1040)Papers of Dean S. Yarbrough, an African American college professor and sociologist, from 1925-1945.
- Youngblood, S. Rufus (Sandy Rufus) (MSS 979)Papers of African American educator Sandy Rufus Youngblood, including his teaching certificates, licenses, letters of recommendation from civil and college officials, family photographs, an obituary, and manuscripts of speeches.
