Ebooks at Emory
For information about eBooks at Emory, see our E-books Guide.
WGSS Librarian
Jennifer Elder
she, her, hers
Contact:
Librarian for Development Studies, Education, Psychology, QTM, Sociology, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Scholarly Chapter/Book
Scholarly Chapter/Book
- Scholarly books are those published by university-based publishing companies (presses) or presses which adhere to high-quality academic standards for the books they publish.
- Examples include university presses such as Cambridge University Press, Stanford University Press, Nebraska University Press, etc.).
- Examples of commercial scholarly presses include Sage, Elsevier, Springer, Wiley-Blackwell, Taylor & Francis, Kluwer, the American Psychological Association, and many more. If you're not sure if a publisher is scholarly, ask a librarian.
Ask a Librarian
Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!
Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor
Click here for our current library hours
Searching for E-books in DiscoverE
Our priority is to make discoverE your first stop. Finding e-books in discoverE begins when you conduct your first search. On the left-hand side of the results screen, you will be able to select to show only on "Full Access Online" or "eBooks." If you wish to limit a search just to ebooks, you can also use the Advanced Search and select material type: eBooks.
Key E-Book Resources and Collections
Note that individual records for all the collections below are currently in Library Search. For more information and advice regarding downloading e-book content, managing digital rights management, and use of e-books, please see the other tabs of this guide!
| Publisher | Collections Avallable | Access |
| ACLS Humanities E-Books | Online collection of over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences | Chapter downloads, can read online as well. |
| Complete Brill corpus available, EBA model with purchases made at the end of the subscription year. | Full title downloads | |
| Cambridge University Press | All Cambridge titles and partner press e-books. Evidence-based collection. Currently content remains stable, and no titles removed. Includes some university partners (e.g., Edinburgh, Bristol, Amsterdam, Manchester) | Full download of titles. |
| Credo | Reference works across disciplines | Individual reference entries searchable and downloadable |
| De Gruyter | Selected frontlist titles (2020-present); also includes some university press titles. | Full title downloads |
| Digitalia | Spanish-language e-book collection. DRM required. | DRM. Adobe Digital Editions required. For more see the ebook FAQs on Digitalia. |
| Duke University Press | Frontlist 2020-forward | Chapter downloads; limit to titles that are free, open access, or available |
| EBSCOhost ebooks | EBSCO's Academic Book Collection. Provided through GALILEO membership. | DRM, most titles multi-user, some limited to read-only or limited number of users. Restrictions on printing and downloading. Require Adobe Digital Editions. For more see the ebook FAQs on Ebsco |
| Elsevier Science Direct Titles | Selected new books (frontlist content), as well as most Handbooks. | Full download of titles. |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | E-versions of Gale reference works. | Chapter downloads as PDF. No additional software required. Notes and highlights can be emailed. Can send to Google drive or Microsoft OneDrive. |
| Selected university press content primarily, select "books" in advanced search, complete backlist for most, but not all is available as a pilot). See note about accessing titles that are not currently available via JSTOR. | Chapter downloads. For more details, see the ebook FAQs on JSTOR. | |
| MIT Press | Front list is open access; term access to backlist content. Recently purchased trade publications. | Chapter downloads |
| ProQuest/Ebrary Academic Library Complete Collection | Individually purchased books, along with access to the GALILEO-provided Academic Library Complete Collections from EBSCO and ProQuest | DRM, most titles multi-user, some limited to read-only or limited number of users. Restrictions on printing and downloading. Require Adobe Digital Editions. For more see the ebook FAQs on Proquest/EBL/Ebrary |
| Oxford Scholarship Online | Most all titles on the platform. Evidence-Based Collection | Chapter downloads only, but can stitch chapters to create unified title. |
| Oxford Bibliographies, Handbooks and Research Encyclopedias | Great resources across a variety of subject areas for overviews, surveys, and critical introductions to the literature. Emory has access to most of subject areas. | Chapter downloads only. HTML includes more options for linking out to other content. |
| Oxford University Press | Provides access to individual titles published by OUP. Access is by individual title only and best located via Library Search. | Access varies from 1 user and some access restrictions to unlimited use and no access restrictions. Does not require additional software or extra accounts. Can download as PDFs or view as html. |
| Sage Research Methods | Research methods texts from Sage. | Titles available in HTML and PDFs. HTML include page numbers for better citation. |
| Sage Reference | All titles on the Sage Knowledge platform. Methods and Social Sciences. Subscription/evidence-based model. | Titles available in HTML and PDFs. HTML include page numbers for better citation. |
| Springer E-Book Collections | ( Materials Science and Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering, and Computer Science). Four year moving wall content for Mathematics and Statistics, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, and Social Sciences. | Full title download available |
| OAPEN | Open Access titles available for download from a variety of publishers and sources. | Full title downloads available. |
| O'Reilly (Safari) | Also referred to as O'Reilly for Higher Education previously known as Safari ebooks. Technical, business and computer science titles | See detailed FAQs for how to download and save. |
| Routledge | Most recent four years of Routledge content. | Full download of titles. |
| Routledge Handbooks | All Routledge Handbooks, full title downloads, on subscription. | Full title downloads available. |
| Project Muse | 2010-2013 university press content | Chapter downloads only. |
| Overdrive | Selected contemporary titles | 1 user downloads (check-outs) only. Not ideal for Reserves. |
| Taylor & Francis | Books purchased directly from the publisher including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Chapman & Hall. These books are without DRM restrictions. | You can view via many browsers or download chapters as PDFs. |
| University of Michigan | Current year and term backlist | Chapter downloads |
| Wiley | Social Sciences, Humanities, and Physical Sciences content | Full text and chapter downloads |