Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Articles and Essays
Find Articles and Other Literature
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (1966-date)
The most comprehensive database for education research and information. Includes more than 1.2 million records from journals, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related material.
ERIC (U. S. Department of Education)
Note: ERIC documents that are not available online but have an "ED" accession number, are available in microfiche. Our ERIC microfiche files are on Level 1 of Woodruff Library in microfiche drawer #411.
Education Abstracts (1983-date)
Provides a wide range of coverage on education topics and fields, including articles from about 80 journals that are notx indexed by ERIC.
Teaching and Learning Inquiry: The ISSOTL Journal
Teaching & Learning Inquiry is the official publication of the International Society of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (ISSOTL). Published twice a year, it includes insightful research, theory, commentary, and other scholarly works that document or facilitate investigations of teaching and learning in higher education. TLI values quality and variety in its vision of the scholarship of teaching and learning. Its pages will showcase the breadth of the interdisciplinary field of SoTL in its explicit methodological pluralism, its call for traditional and new genres, and its international authorship from across career stages.
College Teaching provides an interdisciplinary academic forum on issues in teaching and learning at the undergraduate or graduate level. The journal publishes three kinds of articles. Regular, full-length articles of up to 5,000 words reporting scholarship on teaching methods, educational technologies, classroom management, assessment and evaluation, and other instructional practices that have significance beyond a single discipline. Full-length articles also describe innovative courses and curricula, faulty development programs, and contemporary developments. Quick Fix articles, up to 500 words, present techniques for addressing common classroom problems. Commentaries, up to 1,200 words, provide thoughtful reflections on teaching.
Active Learning in Higher Education
Active Learning in Higher Education is an international, peer reviewed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal is devoted to all aspects of development, innovations and good practice in higher education teaching and learning, including the use of information and communication technologies and issues concerning the management of teaching and learning.
Teaching in Higher Education
Teaching in Higher Education publishes scholarly work that critically examines and interrogates the values and presuppositions underpinning teaching, introduces comparative and/or theoretical perspectives and insights drawn from different cultures and disciplinary frameworks, and considers how teaching and research can be brought into a closer relationship.
The journal welcomes contributions that aim to apply and develop sustained reflection, investigation and critique to learning and teaching in higher education, and that critically identify new agendas for research. The journal’s commitment to foster debate is also recognised through an enthusiasm to publish critical and engaging review papers that examine specific aspects of the field of teaching in higher education.
The National Teaching & Learning Forum
Published six times during the academic year, the National Teaching & Learning Forum covers the breadth of college teaching and learning issues including learning theory, class management, pedagogical innovation, technology and more. With regular features and progressive coverage of developments as they happen, the Forum builds and supports an ongoing conversation about teaching and learning on campus.
Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
The Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL) is a forum for the dissemination of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in higher education for the community of teacher-scholars. Our peer reviewed Journal promotes SoTL investigations that are theory-based and supported by evidence. JoSoTL's objective is to publish articles that promote effective practices in teaching and learning and add to the knowledge base. The themes of the Journal reflect the breadth of interest in the pedagogy forum.
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Open Access)
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning is an open, double-blind peer reviewed electronic journal published twice per year by the Centers for Teaching & Technology at Georgia Southern University. The journal is an international forum for research and information about the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) and its applications in higher/tertiary education.
Practice and Evidence of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (Open Access)
This journal offers an opportunity for those involved in University learning and teaching to disseminate their practice. It aims to publish accounts of scholarly practice that report on small-scale practitioner research and case studies of practice that involve reflection, critique, implications for future practice and are informed by relevant literature, with a focus on enhancement of student learning. This publication thus offers a forum to develop and share scholarly informed practice in Higher Education through either works in progress or more detailed accounts of scholarly practice. There will be opportunities for discussions/comments regarding works in progress to be shared with journal readers on the journal site. The journal is published twice a year (April and October).
Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning Journal (Open Access)
Transformative Dialogues (TD) is a forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. These conversations are intended to span a wide range of reflections on the processes of teaching and learning ranging from the scholarly to scholarship. The international dialogues are focused on improving faculty and, therefore, student learning, and critical thought processes in their current and future lifelong learning.
Mountain Rise: The International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Open Access)
Mountain Rise is particularly interested in publishing articles that fit our mission to provide relevant and cutting edge SOTL to an international audience in higher education. There are several general SOTL journals out there, and we believe that we stand apart because of our emphasis on pushing the envelope in terms of form, content, and method for SOTL. Although we accept good SOTL of any kind, we particularly welcome SOTL that challenges our conventional ideas of scholarship in teaching and learning.
Articles are to focus upon research in any area of pedagogy or focus upon current issues in teaching & learning and the practical implications of that research for teaching and learning in higher education.
Education journals listed by discipline
A list of education research journals from the University of Central Florida.