Librarian
How to Find Research Articles
General
-
Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowA database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications. In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.
-
MAS Complete This link opens in a new windowMAS Complete database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
-
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and Society This link opens in a new windowThe archive contains a variety of materials such as documents, records, images, data sets, range and distribution maps, photographs, and slides (including insect, fungus, and botanical specimen slides) spanning from the 1790s-2000s. This content has been drawn from a variety of global sources, including the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI), The National Archives, Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), the Commonwealth Forestry Archive at Bangor University, and the Ecological Society of America and the Royal Entomological Society.
Non-Western
-
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowNorth American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time.
-
Treasury of Lives This link opens in a new windowThe Treasury of Lives is a biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region. It provides accessible and well-researched biographies of notable scholars, masters, or leaders in traditional Himalayan and Inner Asian society and culture who are deceased and who were native to the region. Content is enhanced by a dynamic map of Asia as well as bibliographies, syllabi, and other curricular materials.
-
Wen yuan ge Si ku quan shu dian zi ban, or Si Ku Quan Shu This link opens in a new windowThe Si Ku Quan Shu, or Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature, is the most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the 18th century. Its contents cover a wide range of subjects, including the classics, history, literature, philosophy, geography, politics, rules and regulations, economics, society, astronomy, science, technology and medicine. Note: This database is on a stand-alone CD-ROM.
Western
-
American National Biography This link opens in a new windowSource of biographical information of people from different eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
-
World Biographical Information System, America and British Biographical Archive This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive biographical database of European and American peoples.
Background Resources
Background resources are tertiary sources that contain materials (articles, data sets, images, charts, and more) offering a comprehensive overview of a topic. Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' background resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
-
AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowSource of reference for major scientific disciplines. Useful to identify and locate primary research material, videos, and teaching material.
-
Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
ENVS Resources
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess material related to environmental studies. Major fields include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, geography, and more.
-
Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index This link opens in a new windowAccess resources related to gardens and plants, designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals and students. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, and more.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Ecology This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of ecology. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Environmental Science This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies in Environmental Science provides the base for initiating, continuing, or expanding your research on all issues related to the environment and our interaction with it.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Philosophy Resources
-
Encyclopedia of Bioethics This link opens in a new windowAccess resources on a wide variety of topics including the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control, the environment, and more.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Philosophy This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of philosophy. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
-
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia covering a variety of topics and figures in the history of philosophy.
Since Emory Libraries have access to more than 1,000 research databases, sometimes it is easier to filter the databases by subject and choose a database based upon your research need. Simply do this by clicking on the "All Subjects" dropdown menu and click on a subject to narrow the results to the available databases that are within the selected discipline.
Click Here to Search Newspaper Databases
Looking for newspaper articles, current or historical? These databases are good places to search. Emory also has free current subscriptions available for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
-
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
-
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.