Librarian
How to Find Research Articles
Biology Resources
-
Annual Plant Reviews online This link opens in a new window
Annual Plant Reviews online is a unique, authoritative and growing collection of peer-reviewed plant science articles published in an electronic format.
-
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new windowAccess resources related to gardens and plants, designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals and students. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, and more.
-
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowAccess an index to life science and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
-
BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed scientific journals. A wide variety of subjects include biomedicine and the physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, public health, and more.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Medicine Resources
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Access online versions of medical and clinical texts, images, and videos. Topics include biochemistry, biostatistics, microbiology, ethics, and psychiatry.
-
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess full-text content on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. The full-text content comes from international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, newsletters, pamphlets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowAccess materials related to medical conditions, procedures, drugs, and more.
-
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess consumer-oriented health content, including materials from reference books, reports, physician-generated videos, medical images, and more. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Since Emory Libraries have access to more than 1,000 research databases, sometimes it is easier to filter the databases by subject and choose a database based upon your research need. Simply do this by clicking on the "All Subjects" dropdown menu and click on a subject to narrow the results to the available databases that are within the selected discipline.
Click Here to Search Social and Cultural Resources
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
-
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of agricultural literature created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Themes range widely across agriculture and allied disciplines.
-
Native American Ethnobotany This link opens in a new window
A historic database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers derived from plants used by Native American peoples. Includes references to texts organized by tribes, plant, and use.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowAccess an index of published literature about native peoples of North America. Includes books, journal literature, conference papers, and U.S. & Canadian government documents.
Economic Resources
-
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of economics-related literature. Includes indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, and covers both economic theory and application.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowAggregates statistical data on national and international industry, markets, and consumers.
-
World BankFree and open access to global development data.
-
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United NationsStatistics, information, and news reports related to agricultural systems across the world.
Newspaper Databases
Looking for newspaper articles, current or historical? These databases are good places to search. Emory also has free current subscriptions available for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, and The Atlanta Journal-Consitution.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
-
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
-
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
-
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader is a digital library of newspapers and magazines from 157 countries in sixty-four languages. Their subject range spans from current news and their expert analysis, through fashion, cooking, and pets, to tips on sailing. PressReader enables users to create their own libraries, download articles for later reading, and use built-in translation capacity to access news written in a language the reader is unfamiliar with.
Background Resources
Background resources are tertiary sources that contain materials (articles, data sets, images, charts, and more) offering a comprehensive overview of a topic. Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' background resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
-
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new windowContains articles related to the various fields of life sciences. Topics range from cell biology to ecology, and include abstracts, illustrations, reference and readings, and more.
-
Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in a number of social science, humanities, and science areas. Use this link to limit to Emory’s subscribed content.
-
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.