U.S. Department of State: Find press releases, policy by country and area, and archives of the websites of previous administrations.
Department of State Office of the Legal Adviser: State Department source for treaties, including Treaties in Force and TIAS, and information on U.S. international law in areas including diplomatic law, employment law, human rights, international claims, and law enforcement.
Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law (also on Hein Online): Annual State Department publication on U.S. practice in international law, with summaries, text of documents, and links to documents. Use the Table of Contents and find chapters with the same subject arrangement each year. For example, Chapter 17 is on international conflict resolution and avoidance, and chapter 18 is on use of force.
Foreign Relations of the United States (also on Hein Online): Historical record of U.S. foreign policy. Volumes by administration and issue, with documents 1861-1980. Search by keyword, section, date, or search or browse heading within volumes.
CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are prepared for congressional committees and staff on topics including international law and U.S. national security policy. Find a complete collection on Proquest Congressional, and collections arranged by topic at EveryCRSReport.com and Congress.gov.
Foreign Affairs magazine. (Council on Foreign Relations; also available on Hein Online, JSTOR, and EBSCO ): Periodical on U.S. foreign policy and global affairs.
Foreign Policy magazine. (Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; also available on EBSCO and JSTOR : Periodical on U.S. foreign policy and international relations.
For Congressional hearings and reports, see the documents of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and House Foreign Affairs Committee, also available on ProQuest Congressional.
Library of Congress: Military Legal Resources: Links to U.S. military law resources, including JAG Legal Center publications, historical materials arranged by war, and a legislative history of the Uniform Code of Military Justice. The Military Law collection includes the Manual for Courts Martial with earlier editions and predecessors.
The Manual for Courts-Martial: Find it at the Joint Service Committee on Military Justice (2024 and earlier editions.) , and on Lexis (2019 ed.)
Westlaw Military Court Cases: Decisions of the US Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces and the U.S. Court of Military Appeals; the Army, Air Force, Coast Guard, and Navy Courts of Criminal Appeals; and the Courts of Military Review.
Lexis: All Military and Veterans Law Cases from Federal and state courts.
LLMC Military Law Collection: Digital collection of historical materials on military justice systems, courts-martial procedures, martial law, and legal frameworks governing armed conflicts. Includes Digests of Opinions of the JAG of the Army, Court Martial Reports, and US Court of Military Appeals Annual Reports, and a large collection of treatises on military law.
Department of Defense Law of War Manual 2015: With a July 2023 update. Manual with information for personnel executing military operations, including when the law of war applies and rules on the conduct of hostilities
The Commander's Handbook on the Law of Land Warfare: Guide to the Law of Armed Conflict for Army and Marine Corps commanders and judge advocates
U.S. Naval War College International Law Studies: Journal on international law focusing on the law of armed conflict and the law governing the use of force.
Digital National Security Archive (subscription database): Declassified government documents on U.S. national security policy, including chronologies and bibliographies.
The Law of War: A Detailed Assessment of the Law of War Manual
by
In 2015, the United States Department of Defense published its long-awaited Law of War Manual making a significant statement on the position of the US government on important military matters. Whilst readers recognise the Manual's legal and strategic importance, they may question whether particular statements of law are legally accurate or complete. This book offers a unique in-depth review of the complete Manual, including revisions, on a paragraph-by-paragraph, line-by-line and word-by-word basis. The authors offer their personal assessment of the DoD's declared view as to the law that regulates the conduct of warfare, a subject of unparalleled current importance. William H. Boothby and Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg offer a balanced, articulate and authoritative critique for readers perusing the Manual in whatever capacity.
The United States Department of Defense Law of War Manual: Commentary and Critique
by
The United States Department of Defense Law of War Manual: Commentary and Critique provides an irreplaceable resource for any politician, international expert, or military practitioner who wishes to understand the approach taken by the American military in the complex range of modern conflicts. Readers will understand the strengths and weaknesses of US legal and policy pronouncements and the reasons behind the modern American way of war, whether US forces deploy alone or in coalitions. This book provides unprecedented and precise analysis of the US approach to the most pressing problems in modern wars, including controversies surrounding use of human shields, fighting in urban areas, the use of cyberwar and modern weaponry, expanding understanding of human rights, and the rise of ISIS. This group of authors, including academics and military practitioners, provides a wealth of expertise that demystifies overlapping threads of law and policy amidst the world's seemingly intractable conflicts.
NATO Basic Texts: Treaties, Agreements, and Policy Documents
NATO Library Research Guides: With timelines and links to documents
NATO Encyclopedia: Thematic Index of NATO topics and missions
NATO Legal Deskbook (2010 2d edition): Introduction to NATO legal documents, international law, and law of armed conflict for NATO legal advisers
The NATO Handbook (2006): Introduction and information on policy-making and structure of NATO
Foreign Law Guide Database: Citations to national laws by country and topic, including Defense and National Security
Hein Online: International Yearbooks and Periodicals: Yearbooks of international law
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World: Links to Parliaments, courts, government sites, Official Gazettes and statutes, guides, and general sources of information on other countries
Northwestern University Library Guide: List of Foreign Governments: Links to Parliaments and government agencies, including Ministries of Foreign Affairs
FAS: World Intelligence and Security Agencies: Links by country to intelligence and national security agencies, with reports and secondary sources
Sources of State Practice in International Law
by
Sources of State Practice in International Law is a descriptive bibliography of both electronic and printed sources of information containing the text of treaties and the record of diplomatic activity of important jurisdictions around the world. As such, it includes an up-to-date description of national treaty portals and other valuable Internet-based sources. At the same time, it also includes descriptions of printed sources providing access to treaties and official diplomatic documentation difficult to locate in standard compilations. In addition, this work includes a narrative section for each jurisdiction summarizing issues related to treaty succession and treaty implementation in municipal law. Sources of State Practice in International Law is an indispensable reference for researchers in both international law and international relations. Contributors: Jennifer Allison, Martin Bouda, Rob Britt, Talia Einhorn, Victor Essien, Gabriela Femenia, Ralph F. Gaebler, Susan Gualtier, Ryan Harrington, Carole L. Hinchcliff, Marci Hoffman, Vera Korzun, Jootaek (Juice) Lee, Joseph Luke, Evelyn Ma, Teresa M. Miguel-Stearns, Dana Neacsu, Kara Phillips, Sunil Rao, Mary Rumsey, Alison A. Shea, Maria I. Smolka-Day, Suzanne Thorpe and Beatrice Tice
Military Justice in the Modern Age
by
The Law of Command Responsibility
by
The book offers a unique study of the law of command or superior responsibility under international law. Born in the aftermath of the Second World War, the doctrine of superior responsibility provides that a military commander, a civilian leader or the leader of a terrorist, paramilitary or rebel group could be held criminally responsible in relation to crimes committed by subordinates even where he has taken no direct or personal part in the commission of these crimes. The basis of this type of liability lies in a grave and culpable failure on the part of the superior to fulfill his duties to prevent or punish crimes of subordinates. The idea that a superior could be held criminally responsible in relation to crimes of subordinates is central to the ability of international law to ensure compliance with standards of humanitarian law and it remains a most important legal instrument in the fight against impunity. Though it first developed in the international arena, the doctrine of superior responsibility has now spread into many domestic jurisdictions thus offering judicial and prosecutorial authorities a ready-made instrument to hold to account the leaders of men who knew of the crimes of their subordinates and failed to adequately respond to prevent or punish those crimes. This volume provides a comprehensive and insightful dissection of the doctrine of superior responsibility, the scope of its application, its elements as well as the evidential difficulties involved in establishing the criminal responsibility of a superior in the context of a criminal prosecution.
The Handbook of the International Law of Military Operations
by
The second edition of this well received handbook provides a comprehensive overview and annotated commentary of those areas of international law most relevant to the planning and conduct of military operations. It covers a wide scope of military operations, ranging from operations conducted under UN Security Council mandate to (collective) self-defence and consensual and humanitarian operations and identifies the relevant legal bases and applicable legal regimes governing the application of force and treatment of persons during such operations. It also devotes attention to the law governing the status of forces, military use of the sea and airspace and questions of international (criminal) responsibility for breaches of international law. New developments such as cyber warfare and controversial aspects of law in relation to contemporary operations, such as targeted killing of specific individuals are discussed and analysed, alongside recent developments in more traditional types of operations, such as peacekeeping and naval operations. The book is aimed at policy officials, commanders and their (military) legal advisors who are involved with the planning and conduct of any type of military operation and is intended to complement national and international policy and legal guidelines and assist in identifying and applying the law to ensure legitimacy and contribute to mission accomplishment. It likewise fulfils a need in pertinent international organizations, such as the UN, NATO, Regional Organizations, and NGOs. It also serves as a comprehensive work of reference to academics and is suitable for courses at military staff colleges, academies and universities, which devote attention to one or more aspects of international law treated in the book. This mix of intended users is reflected in the contributors who include senior (former) policy officials and (military) legal advisors, alongside academics engaged in teaching and research in these areas of international law.
Tallinn Manual 2. 0 on the International Law Applicable to Cyber Operations
by
Tallinn Manual 2.0 expands on the highly influential first edition by extending its coverage of the international law governing cyber operations to peacetime legal regimes. The product of a three-year follow-on project by a new group of twenty renowned international law experts, it addresses such topics as sovereignty, state responsibility, human rights, and the law of air, space, and the sea. Tallinn Manual 2.0 identifies 154 'black letter' rules governing cyber operations and provides extensive commentary on each rule. Although Tallinn Manual 2.0 represents the views of the experts in their personal capacity, the project benefitted from the unofficial input of many states and over fifty peer reviewers.
National Security in the New World Order
by
This book explores contemporary concerns about the protection of national security. It examines the role, influence, and impact of Big Tech on politics, power, and individual rights. The volume considers the manner in which digital technology and its business models have shaped public policy and charts its future course. In this text for legislators and policymakers, Andrea Monti and Raymond Wacks draw on several case studies to analyse the changing nature of national security and revisit the traditional idea of the sovereignty of the State. They highlight some of the limitations of the conventional understanding of public policy, national security, and the rule of law to reveal the role of digital technology as an enabler as well as discriminator in governance and social disorder. Further, the chapters in the book explore the tenuous balance between individual freedom and national security; the key role of data protection in safeguarding digital data; Big Tech's appropriation of national security policy; the debate relating to datagathering technologies and encryption; and offers an unsettling answer to the question 'what is a leak?' A stimulating read, this key text will be of immense interest to scholars of politics, cyberculture, and national security, as well as to policy analysts, lawyers, and journalists.
Faculty Research Question?
Please submit a Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please submit a Student Research Question form.
Still have questions?
Stop by our Reference Desk to chat with us in person.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 18, 2025 - November 2, 2025)*:
Monday - Thursday: 8am - 12am
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - 12am
*Extended hours begin Monday, November 3, 2025.
Reference Desk (August 18, 2025 - December 11, 2025):
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm, 2:30pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
