Starting Points

This Guide describes many resources that will help you with your research. If you are just starting your research project, you may want to look at research guides to help direct your research. Some research guides that may be useful include:

Research Guides: Find resources and links on international law

UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library: Guides on UN documentation and topics including humanitarian affairs, peacekeeping, and international law
Peace Palace Library: Guides include International Humanitarian Law, International Peace and Security, Intervention, Use of Force, War and Peace
Georgetown Law Library: Guides include National Security, War Crimes
US Naval War College: Research guide topic areas include Area Studies; Conflict, Security, and Warfare; and the Stockton e-Portal on the law of armed conflict
NYU GlobaLex Research Guides on foreign and international law, including guides on Cyberwarfare; International Criminal Law; and War, Peace, and Security

Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law: Detailed articles on international law topics, with citations, document lists, and bibliographies. Include links to documents and the Oxford Law Citator for finding citation form and related citing documents.

Oxford Bibliographies on International Law: Extensive bibliographies of law review articles, treatises, jurisprudence, and documents of international organizations on topics in international law.

Parry and Grant's Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (3rd edition online; older edition in print - KZ1161 .P37 2004). Definitions of international law terms with citations and links.

Restatement of the Law - The Foreign Relations of Law of the United States: Principles of U.S. foreign relations and international law, with citations to cases, treatises and secondary sources. Available online through Westlaw , Lexis, and Hein Online, and at Range 306.

CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are prepared for congressional committees and staff on topics including international law and U.S. foreign policy. Find a complete collection on Proquest Congressional, and collections to search by topic on congress.gov and everycrsreport.com

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Faculty Research Question?
Please submit a Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please submit a Student Research Question form.

Still have questions?
Stop by our Reference Desk to chat with us in person.

Library Hours

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 18, 2025 - November 2, 2025)*:

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 12am
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - 12am
*Extended hours begin Monday, November 3, 2025.

Reference Desk (August 18, 2025 - December 11, 2025):
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm, 2:30pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services