Librarian
How to Find Research Articles
Chemistry Resources
-
Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA workflow solution for accessing substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
-
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess chemistry journals from the American Chemical Society. Also known as ACS Web Editions.
-
BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed scientific journals. A wide variety of subjects include biomedicine and the physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, public health, and more.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Medicine Resources
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Access online versions of medical and clinical texts, images, and videos. Topics include biochemistry, biostatistics, microbiology, ethics, and psychiatry.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowAccess materials related to medical conditions, procedures, drugs, and more.
-
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess consumer-oriented health content, including materials from reference books, reports, physician-generated videos, medical images, and more. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Since Emory Libraries have access to more than 1,000 research databases, sometimes it is easier to filter the databases by subject and choose a database based upon your research need. Simply do this by clicking on the "All Subjects" dropdown menu and click on a subject to narrow the results to the available databases that are within the selected discipline.
Click Here to Search Background Resources
Background resources are tertiary sources that contain materials (articles, data sets, images, charts, and more) offering a comprehensive overview of a topic. Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' background resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
-
AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowSource of reference for major scientific disciplines. Useful to identify and locate primary research material, videos, and teaching material.
-
Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new windowContains frequently used data in the fields of chemistry and physics.
-
International Encyclopedia of Biological Anthropology This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedic reference relating to biological anthropology. Topics range from ongoing human evolution, paleoanthropology, and non-human primates to paleopathology, forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, anthropological genetics.
-
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
Sherlock Holmes Resources
Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' creative writing and literature resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new windowContains resources for the study and teaching of literature in English. Access a large collection of literary works, criticism, and reference resources. Includes poetry, drama, prose fiction, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
-
Nineteenth Century Fiction This link opens in a new windowAccess a collection of British and Irish novels from the period of 1782 to 1903.
-
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Part 1: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure covers British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values, and ideas that shaped the world during this milestone period. This collection marks the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain and charts the rapid rise of modern magazine culture.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Part II: Empire turns its attention to the role Britain played beyond its own borders as an imperial power throughout the nineteenth century. Complete runs of 91 periodicals chart a century in which Britain extended its influence, reaching new heights of empire building. Sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and the National Library of Australia, the collection contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. With over one million fully searchable pages o text, users can search for articles on the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807, read about reports of the first Opium Wars (1839-42), measure the response to Queen Victoria's assumption of the title of Empress of India in 1876, and follow the European powers in their "scramble for Africa" in the 1880s and 1890s.
Newspaper Databases
Looking for newspaper articles, current or historical? These databases are good places to search. Emory also has free current subscriptions available for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
-
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
-
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.