Research Guides: DSC101: Everyday Genres (Fall 24): Finding Rhetorical Artifacts

Archival materials

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
Complete transcripts, audio, video database and directory of American speeches, sermons, lectures, and interviews.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Topically-focused collections of historical documents that support research and study. Materials range across area studies and disciplinary fields.
Collections vary widely by subject and include the following: Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 Federal Response to Radicalism James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848 Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949 Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963

Emory Digital Collections
An online repository for Emory University's digitized archives and special collections material.
Emory FindingAids
The EmoryFindingAids database provides centralized access to detailed descriptions of archival and manuscript collections held in various repositories at Emory. Finding aids describe our unique primary resources and help researchers determine if collections contain material of interest to them and exactly where that material is located.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Access backfiles of Beat, Billboard, Boxoffice, Broadcasting & Cable, Melody Maker, Musician, New Musical Express, Spin, Variety, and other entertainment titles.
ProQuest Digital Hearings Collection (Retrospective A & B) (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Contains full transcripts of published and unpublished hearings from 1824-onward, including all oral statements, committee questions, discussion, and exhibits presented by witnesses.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
ProQuest History This link opens in a new window
Contains 38 historical databases covering primary sources such as newspapers, magazines, government documents, first-hand accounts, and more.
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
Enables searching across all available Readex collections, including historic newspapers, books, pamphlets, and government publications from the Americas and Africa.
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
An ongoing project to produce searchable full text of historical newspapers from around the world. Initially will contain selected newspapers from Latin America, Africa and South Asia.

Supreme Court of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. Supreme Court hearings, oral arguments, and related materials for recent cases.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe) This link opens in a new window
Contains congressional publications, including congressional hearings.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

AdViews digital collection
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and newsreel footage on topics related to American history. In class viewing and embedding of video in websites or Emory course-related access points is permitted.
Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University This link opens in a new window
An archive of television news, including individual network evening news from major U.S. broadcast networks.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.

Library of Congress
Prints and Photographs online catalog.
Meta Ad Library
A searchable collection of all ads currently running from across Meta technologies.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, colloquially "the Met", is located in New York City and is the largest art museum in the United States, and among the most visited art museums in the world.

Cambridge Companions Online
Contains guides written by specialists in their fields on influential writers, artists, topics, periods and more.
Credo Reference Unlimited
Contains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Dictionary of American History
Access this wide-ranging dictionary on topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Access wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
Details current geographical, social, and political data, historical narrative, and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the U.S. Each entry consistently contains data on 50 rubrics. Maps, tables, flags and official state seals included.