Research Guides: ARTHIST 480RW Sculpture's Body : Finding Sources

Finding Sources

Books. (Library Search and WorldCat)
Scholarly articles in journals (Databases@Emory and curated list)
Archival sources
Newspapers

Library Search

Use Library Search to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, including Woodruff; Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library; Goizueta Business; Pitts Theology; Woodruff Health Sciences Center; McMillan Law; Science Commons; Music and Media; and Oxford libraries.

Finding Journal Articles

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, and more. Prominent themes include painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, computer and electronic art, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.

Search Libraries Worldwide

A catalog for libraries worldwide, WorldCat contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

Materials from WorldCat may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Archival Sources

Searching for archival materials is another area of research that is rich with specialized skills, tools, and techniques.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
A point of entry to worldwide archival holdings. Search for and view archival manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives

WorldCat
WorldCat's vast database, the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide including every academic and research library in the United States, includes archival holdings. To search archival holdings only, click the "Archival Materials" button in the Limit Type To: box.
Emory's Rose Library Finding Aids
Explore collection guides (finding aids) for collections in Emory University's five special collections and archives repositories. This discovery system contains descriptions of unique materials including manuscripts, photographs, audio and video recordings, printed material, correspondence, and more.

Newspapers

How do I find newspapers?

Below is a list of U.S. newspaper databases. Available papers range from the 17th to the 20th century. There is some overlap with these databases and sources listed under Recent Newspapers.

Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of historical newspapers dating from 1900 to 1963.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (1800s)

ARTHIST 480RW Sculpture's Body

Art History Journals

Background Reference