Wellness Resources from MacMillan Law Library

Emory's Campus Life works to promote a healthy and sustainable environment where students "live what they learn and learn what they live for self and society."  Included under the Campus Life umbrella are, among other departments,  

• Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS), 
• Office of Health Promotion, 
• Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Life, and 
• Office of Respect.

Resources from each division of Campus Life are featured below. 

Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS) provides free, confidential crisis, non-urgent, and 24/7 Crisis Telehealth counseling for all students enrolled at Emory University.  

• Crisis support includes walk-in (1462 Clifton Rd, Ste. 235) or phone (404-727-7450) appointments Monday - Friday, 8:30am-3:30pm.
  • Crisis appointments are typically brief (15-20 minutes) and are focused on assessing for safety and/or urgent need.
  • Appointments can also include plans for next steps such as scheduling a follow-up appointment at CAPS or connecting you to additional campus or community resources.  
• Non-Urgent support includes an initial brief phone consultation during which a clinician will assess your current needs and eligibility for services.  During this call, the CAPS clinician will explain your options and assist you with next steps.  Outcomes may include:
  • Scheduling an appointment for individual or group therapy,
  • Connecting you with TimelyCare, 
  • Referring you to a community provider, 
  • Referring you to a workshop or skills group, or
  • Providing you with information about other relevant supports and resources. 
• 24/7 Crisis Telehealth (phone or video) support includes TalkNow through the TimelyCare platform and allows you to virtually meet with a licensed urgent care counselor 24/7 through the TimelyCare platform.  To connect to a with a counselor, use your Emory credientials to sign up at timely.com/emory, click "Start New Visit," click "TalkNow" and follow the instructions on the screen. 

The CAPS Resources page includes a growing list of self-help resources addressing various topics relevant to student mental health and wellness - including current events and population-specific resources.  Topics include:

• Mental Health
  • Academic Success
  • Anxiety
  • Body Image and Eating Disorders
  • Career Resources (includes graduate students)
  • Depression
  • Grief
  • Sleep
  • Stress
  • Substance Use Concerns
  • Suicide Prevention

• Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Black Lives Matter
  • Financial Insecurity
  • Coping with Political Climate
  • Immigration Resources
  • Racial Trauma

Need an App for That?  Download this Feeling Stressed or Distressed? Try An App handout from CAPS that includes info about apps for 

• Anxiety + Depression
• Anxiety / Panic
• Sleep Difficulties
• PTSD
• Depression
• Focus / Procrastination
• Gratitude

The Office of Health Promotion contributes to students' success in and our of the classroom by providing resources, healthy skill-building consultations, group education interventions and training, campus initiatives, and mentoring for future public health professionals.

The Office of Health Promotion's Mental Well-Being page includes information on:

• Sleep
  • Sleep - What you Need to Know (PDF from Office of Health Promotion)
  • Better Sleep - A 2-minute Guide (video (1:55) by Vox)
  • How to Fall Asleep FAST When You Can't Sleep! 10 Sleep Life Hacks (video (5:59) by Natalies Outlet)
  • Coffee Naps - Scientists agree: Coffee Naps are Better Than Coffee or Naps Alone (video (2:24) by Vox)
• Stress
  • Stress Management Strategies: Ways to Unwind (video (5:05) by mahalodotcom)

The mission of the Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Life is to engage the university community in the creation of an affirming and just campus environment while supporting the development of students of all gender and sexual identities. Within our mission, we focus on different areas to best engage our students.

The Office of Respect is a 24-hour support resource that helps Emory students impacted by interpersonal violence. We have advocates available to offer support and help you learn more about your options and rights; assist with safety planning; provide legal and medical accompaniment; and/or offer academic assistance.  We also aim to reduce the incidents of sexual assault and interpersonal violence through preventative work, bystander trainings, and support of peer networks. 

Emory's Office of Spiritual and Religious Life has a wide variety of resources to help you digitally "worship, meditate, learn, reflect, and connect".

Pastoral Care.  All of the chaplains in OSRL are available for pastoral care, which is a form of confidential care and counseling provided by spiritual and humanistic leaders.

Sacred Spaces on Campus (Atlanta)

Have a question for the Law Library?  Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services