Biology Databases
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowAccess an index to life science and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Since Emory Libraries have access to more than 1,000 research databases, sometimes it is easier to filter the databases by subject and choose a database based upon your research need. Simply do this by clicking on the "All Subjects" dropdown menu and click on a subject to narrow the results to the available databases that are within the selected discipline.
Click Here to Search Biographies
Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' biography resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowA database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications. In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowAccess biographies on artists, authors composers, film directors, American reforms and more.
What is Articles+?
Articles+ provides Emory users with access to millions of scholarly e-resources including articles, images, conference proceedings, audio-visual materials, books, and dissertations. Search Articles+ by selecting the header on Library Search or by following the link in your search results.
Background Resources
Background resources are tertiary sources that contain materials (articles, data sets, images, charts, and more) offering a comprehensive overview of a topic. Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' background resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
- AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowSource of reference for major scientific disciplines. Useful to identify and locate primary research material, videos, and teaching material.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new windowContains articles related to the various fields of life sciences. Topics range from cell biology to ecology, and include abstracts, illustrations, reference and readings, and more.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowContains online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
Newspaper Databases
Looking for newspaper articles, current or historical? These databases are good places to search. Emory also has free current subscriptions available for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.