Caste

Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or bibliographies are a great way to find background information on a topic as well as build a vocabulary for more effective searches. Below are a few online and print resources to get you started. We have many more resources so if you don't see what you need here, search the library catalog.

• Oxford Bibliographies Online
  Guide to scholarly literature in a variety of subject areas. The above link will take you to a wide-ranging list of articles related to caste from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. You can also start by browsing some of the articles below or search for articles on your topic.
  • Caste 
  • Dalit Studies
  • B.R. Ambedkar
  • Ambedkar and Buddhism
  • Dalits and Hinduism
  • Contemporary Indian Society
  • Identity Politics
  • Social Movements
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Contains bibliographic indexes pertaining to South Asia published worldwide. Particular emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
• Oxford Reference Online
  Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
• Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Asian History
  Features collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
• The Cambridge Companion to Modern Indian Culture
  Includes chapters on the relationship between caste and culture in modern India.
• Routledge Handbook of Indian Politics
  Includes chapters on caste and Indian political parties and movements.