Research Guides: The Migrant South: Data, Government Info., Legal History

Legal Sources

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window
Treatises on United States and British Commonwealth law.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains declassified U.S. government documents covering policy towards world events, especially in the areas of foreign policy and intelligence.
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe) This link opens in a new window
Contains congressional publications, including congressional hearings.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains quantitative indicators of American history. Topics range from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Data can be downloaded in Excel or CSV, printed, or graphed.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
American State Papers This link opens in a new window
Legislative and executive documents of the U.S. Congress covering 1789 to 1838.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Comprised of the reports, documents, and journals, of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives since 1817.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

Ancestry Library Edition-On campus access only This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition collection is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers. Created through a partnership with Ancestry.com
Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. census data from 1790-2010, updates from the American Community Survey, data on religious congregations, and more. Includes an online research tool designed to analyze and report on available information.

For more information on how to find data sets for historical computational analysis, go to Emory Data Librarian, Rob O'Reilly's Data Resources for Historians: Data Services at Emory guide.