How to Search Databases
START HERE: Watch the short tutorial video on the right to learn some quick tips and steps for searching the library's research databases. Tips for finding articles
-
to find articles about a language try alternate names or spellings for the language; also consider the prominence of particular dialects (e.g. Brazilian Portuguese; Mandarin; Lushootseed vs. Coast Salish; etc.). Languages less prominent in the literature may not have stand-alone articles written about them, but may be treated in articles about a particular language family or geographical region.
-
Find articles by a linguist search the linguists name and select "author" (or equivalent) from the drop-down menu. For contemporary linguists, professional/academic CVs containing lists of all or selected publications can often be found by doing a web search containing the linguist's name and the term CV or curriculum vitae.
-
Find articles about a linguist search the linguist's name and select "subject" (or equivalent) from the drop-down menu
Used with a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License Adapted from: https://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/linguistics/databases
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAccess Abstracts and indexes of international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
- Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowAccess detailed bibliographic descriptions of linguistic publications on general and language-specific theoretical linguistics. Includes many languages, and accords particular attention to including publications on endangered and lesser-studied languages.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.