The MacMillan Law Library team provides faculty and student research support to Emory Law’s renowned faculty. Our Research Services team has six professional law librarians each with a J.D. and a Masters degree in library and information science (MLIS) who specialize in both legal and interdisciplinary research. In addition, all of MacMillan’s Research Librarians have law practice experience and/or other highly relevant professional legal work experience.
Our Research Librarians are available for high quality, short-term research assistance to faculty generally on a first-come, first-served basis. Using the full resources of the MacMillan Law Library and the Emory University Library System, MacMillan’s team of Research Librarians provide research assistance and RA support to Emory Law faculty during normal business hours except during University holidays and Recess Days.
To request research assistance, please complete our Faculty Research Request intake form with as much information as possible and one of MacMillan’s Research Librarians will contact you with an estimated completion date. Our policy is to complete each faculty request as soon as possible. Because we are often working on multiple faculty research projects simultaneously as well as many other projects, we request faculty members provide as much advance notice as possible on every request so we may more accurately analyze the scope and complexity of the research problem. For more in-depth research requests, MacMillan’s Research Librarians are available to partner with faculty Research Assistants for whom we will provide one-on-one guidance and suggest research strategies and resources.
MacMillan Law Library participates in a library consortium to ensure the broadest access of materials to our faculty and students. Through this cooperative agreement, the library can request items on your behalf. To request materials from MacMillan Law Library, the Emory Library System, or via Interlibrary Loan, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Document Delivery," and provide as much information as possible.
We will explore all avenues available to track down the item(s) requested. For physical items, upon receipt we will check it out to you and put it in your mailbox. For digital materials, we will send you a link as soon as possible.
Interlibrary Loan
Physical items obtained via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) are subject to a variety of lending policies as they are materials on loan from non-Emory libraries. Borrowing times may vary and newer releases may not always be available. Additionally, ILL items should be handled with the greatest care possible because these are not our books. Please respect any restrictions placed by the lending library, such as "library use only" or "no renewals." Disregarding these restrictions may result in fines and/or the loss of ILL borrowing privileges. Finally, please do not remove the paperwork on the front cover of ILL books; doing so vastly increases the chances the item will get lost and fines levied.
Purchase Requests
If you have recommendations for additions to our collection, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Purchase Request," and provide as much information as possible. Our Collection Development Team reviews all purchase requests to ensure requested materials are in alignment with out Collection Development Policy.
MacMillan Library offers support for faculty research assistants in a variety of ways. From our annual Summer RA Workshop to library guides and one-on-one consultations, we are available to work directly with your RAs to help them succeed in supporting your scholarship. For more information about how we can work with your RA(s), please submit a Faculty Request Form, click "Research," and provide as much information as possible.
MacMillan Law Library provides assistance with many of the popular current awareness tools as well. To request current awareness support, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Other," and provide as much information as possible.
Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:
Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):
Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services