Research Guides: ARTHIST 190 Whose Antiquity? : Finding Resources

Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.

Subjects:: Museums--Acquisitions--Moral and ethical aspects; Museums--Acquisitions--Case studies
Cultural property--Protection; Cultural property--Protection (International law)
Cultural property--Protection--Law and legislation; Cultural property--Repatriation
Antiquities--Collection and preservation--Moral and ethical aspects
Antiquities--Collection and preservation--Social aspects
Excavations (Archaeology)--Moral and ethical aspects
Museums--Philosophy; Archaeological thefts; Art thefts

Use the A-Z Database Page and sort by news TYPE to see all the newspaper databases Emory has to offer. Below are just a few sample databases.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Searchable in English and Spanish, materials span from 1960 to the present.
Newspaper Source Plus [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides current information and daily feeds from a wide variety of U.S. and international newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
All Africa.com This link opens in a new window
Current news from African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications across the African continent, and more.

Historical

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images of the Times (London) with searchable full text, including searchable advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This archive does not include the Sunday Times, a newspaper independent of the Times. Coverage: 1785-1985. (Use Nexis Uni for Times issues July 1, 1985 to present)

Google News Archive
Digitized newspapers crawled from miscellaneous web sources.
Newspaper Digitization Projects: International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
"This page highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources." - Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
Enables searching across all available Readex collections, including historic newspapers, books, pamphlets, and government publications from the Americas and Africa.