Statistics - Discovery Seminar - Discovering the Local Economy - Blake - Fall 2024 - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Georgia Statistics

Newton County Comprehensive Plan
This plan is a guiding document for Newton County’s future. It was designed to be used by the Newton County community -- residents, elected leaders, county staff, local organizations, business owners, and workers alike. The information and ideas provided in this
document are meant to help the community reach individual and collective goals, pointing to resources and strategies that can support meaningful work along the way.
Georgia Data by County - FRED
Explore resources provided by the Research Division at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes information on housing, employment, and income inequality.
US Census Quick Facts - Georgia
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more. Search for a city or county in the top left search bar.
Data USA
A corporate visualization tool of publicly available data. Much of this information is available on the other two websites, but you may prefer this user interface. Click the "Add comparison" button to get information from individual counties.

Statistics Databases

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window
Create custom target lists from 30 million U.S. business profiles. Sortable by geography, industry, size, and more. Limited to domestic companies.
World Development Indicators - WDI Online This link opens in a new window
Source for international environmental data.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical) This link opens in a new window
Source of statistical information issued by U.S. Federal & State governments, selected private publications, and major international intergovernmental organizations. Includes data from American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, & Index to International Statistics.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Aggregates statistical data on national and international industry, markets, and consumers.
Much of the aggregate data is available for download/exported, although the underlying microdata is not.
SageData This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations.
Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades. Data sources include the U.S. government and the World Bank.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Internationally comparable, country-level economic and financial time series data, produced by the International Monetary Fund. Standard source of statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Access current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world.

Statistics Websites

World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data.
OECD Statistics
Provided by the Organization for Economic Cooperation Co-Operation and Development. OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
FRED Economic Data
Federal Reserve Economic Data, or FRED, offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.