Scholarly Journals and Evaluating Resources
Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published. Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. Here are tips on locating scholarly journal articles and evaluating sources.
WGSS Librarian
Jennifer Elder
she, her, hers
Contact:
Librarian for Development Studies, Education, Psychology, QTM, Sociology, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Find peer-reviewed academic articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowContains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess a range of material related to business. Includes peer-reviewed journals, financial data, monographs, case studies and more.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowCovers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowContains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCollection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.