Skip to Main Content
Posters
- Posters from the Herskovits Library: Northwestern University collection."These posters represent a sampling (approximately 600) of our growing collection of over 4000 Africana posters housed at the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies. The subjects covered here include politics, health, religion, liberation struggles, art exhibitions, and social issues."
Photographs & Postcards
- Africa Through a Lens: "Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags."
- Afripedia: "Afripedia is a platform that aims to change the narrative within the global creative community by highlighting talent of African descent. A curated database where African creatives worldwide can connect with each other and clients. Creating collaborations, opportunities, and relatable role models to inspire the next generation of creatives."
- African South of the Sahara: List of websites with African photographs. Divided by Historical and Contemporary.
- Africana Historic Postcard Collection:"The African Section of the Library of Congress’ African and Middle Eastern Division has amassed a unique collection of more than 2000 historical photographic postcards documenting an important visual record of Africa and its people during the historically intensive years of European colonialism, from 1895 to 1960."
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent: "Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries. It is hoped that the search features of the collection will be a convenient aid to scholarship, study, and teaching of these disciplines."
- British Library Images Online
- Die Deutsche Kolonialgesellschaft (DKG) Bildarchiv In English and German. The Stadt- und Universittsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main has put on-line a large keyword searchable database of colonial era photographs, 1822-1936, from the archives of the Deutsche Kolonialgesellschaft [German Colonial Society], a major organization behind Germany's colonial expansion.
- France. Bibliotheque nationale. Gallica
- Flickr - Images FOR Africa "We want to collect 'Images of Africa' that are 'free to use' according to a Creative Commons License: Social documentary, structures, public transport, village life, poverty, nature, wildlife ... everything!"
Maps
- Afriterra: "This resource is achieved by cataloging, digitizing, and displaying more than 5,000 of the rarest historical maps focused on Africa. The content spans over 500 years, covering all regions and scales, in 8 different languages, by 3000 unique creators."
- Gallica (Bibliothèque Nationale de France): Africa in Maps: "Explore from this page all the maps of Africa and its territories available on Gallica via three modes of access: national maps by current or former country, general maps by century, and the map of Africa by Lannoy de Bissy."
- 16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa: Herskovits Library of African Studies. "This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century."