Research Guides: MESAS 490 Mysticism, Magic, and Mystery in the Middle East and North Africa (Main): Articles

Popular databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Key Databases

Middle East & Africa Database (MIDA) This link opens in a new window
The Middle East and Africa Database (MIDA) is a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America.
Al-Manhal This link opens in a new window
Al-Manhal provides 4 types of cross-searchable products (ebooks, Peer-reviewed Journals, Theses & Dissertations, and Middle East Strategic Online Reports) on the same platform, and the content is available in multiple languages including Arabic, English, French and some other languages.
• eBooks: A growing collection of over 15,500 titles in 12 subject areas • Peer-reviewed Journals: A growing collection of over 650 peer-reviewed titles with at least 5 years back issues. • Theses & Dissertations: Over 9000 titles from the most prominent academic foundations across the Middle East. • Middle East Strategic Studies Online Reports: Over 10,000 reports (Political reports, economical, reports on the Middle East and Arab-Israeli affairs.
PERSEUS Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains resources for the study of humanities. Includes literary and historical collections ranging from the Archaic and Classical Greek world to the English Renaissance to the American Civil War,. Also contains Greek, Latin, Italian, and Arabic language resources.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, essays, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, essays, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.
RAMBI This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarly articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Includes some full text articles.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classics This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Classics. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Key E-Book Resources and Collections

Note that individual records for all the collections below are currently in Library Search. For more information and advice regarding downloading e-book content, managing digital rights management, and use of e-books, please see the other tabs of this guide!

Publisher	Collections Avallable	Access
American Chemical Society	Up to most recent year	Read online, chapter downloads.
ACLS Humanities E-Books	Online collection of over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences	Chapter downloads, can read online as well.
Brill	Complete Brill corpus available, EBA model with purchases made at the end of the subscription year.	Full title downloads
Cambridge University Press	All Cambridge titles and partner press e-books. Evidence-based collection. Currently content remains stable, and no titles removed. Includes some university partners (e.g., Edinburgh, Bristol, Amsterdam, Manchester)	Full download of titles.
Credo	Reference works across disciplines	Individual reference entries searchable and downloadable
De Gruyter	Selected frontlist titles (2020-present); also includes some university press titles. 2024-present titles from University of Hawaii and Harvard University Press.	Full title downloads
Digitalia	Spanish-language e-book collection. DRM required.	DRM. Adobe Digital Editions required. For more see the ebook FAQs on Digitalia.
Duke University Press	Frontlist 2020-forward	Chapter downloads; limit to titles that are free, open access, or available
EBSCOhost ebooks	EBSCO's Academic Book Collection. Provided through GALILEO membership.	DRM, most titles multi-user, some limited to read-only or limited number of users. Restrictions on printing and downloading. Require Adobe Digital Editions. For more see the ebook FAQs on Ebsco
Elsevier Science Direct Titles	Selected new books (frontlist content), as well as most Handbooks.	Full download of titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library	E-versions of Gale reference works.	Chapter downloads as PDF. No additional software required. Notes and highlights can be emailed. Can send to Google drive or Microsoft OneDrive.
Institute of Physics (IOP)	Up to most recent year	Read online, chapter downloads, complete download.
JSTOR E-Books	Selected university press content primarily, select "books" in advanced search, complete backlist for most, but not all is available as a pilot). See note about accessing titles that are not currently available via JSTOR.	Chapter downloads. For more details, see the ebook FAQs on JSTOR.
MIT Press	Front list is open access; term access to backlist content. Recently purchased trade publications also available.	Chapter downloads
ProQuest/Ebrary Academic Library Complete Collection	Individually purchased books, along with access to the GALILEO-provided Academic Library Complete Collections from EBSCO and ProQuest	DRM, most titles multi-user, some limited to read-only or limited number of users. Restrictions on printing and downloading. Require Adobe Digital Editions. For more see the ebook FAQs on Proquest/EBL/Ebrary
Oxford Scholarship Online	Most all titles on the platform. Evidence-Based Collection	Chapter downloads only, but can stitch chapters to create unified title.
Oxford Bibliographies, Handbooks and Research Encyclopedias	Great resources across a variety of subject areas for overviews, surveys, and critical introductions to the literature. Emory has access to most of subject areas.	Chapter downloads only. HTML includes more options for linking out to other content.
Oxford University Press	Provides access to individual titles published by OUP. Access is by individual title only and best located via Library Search.	Access varies from 1 user and some access restrictions to unlimited use and no access restrictions. Does not require additional software or extra accounts. Can download as PDFs or view as html.
Sage Research Methods	Research methods texts from Sage.	Titles available in HTML and PDFs. HTML include page numbers for better citation.
Sage Reference	All titles on the Sage Knowledge platform. Methods and Social Sciences. Subscription/evidence-based model.	Titles available in HTML and PDFs. HTML include page numbers for better citation.
Springer E-Book Collections	( Materials Science and Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering, and Computer Science). Four year moving wall content for Mathematics and Statistics, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, and Social Sciences.	Full title download available
OAPEN	Open Access titles available for download from a variety of publishers and sources.	Full title downloads available.
O'Reilly (Safari)	Also referred to as O'Reilly for Higher Education previously known as Safari ebooks. Technical, business and computer science titles	See detailed FAQs for how to download and save.
Routledge	Most recent four years of Routledge content.	Full download of titles.
Routledge Handbooks	All Routledge Handbooks, full title downloads, on subscription.	Full title downloads available.
Project Muse	2010-2013 university press content	Full book downloads as of 2024.
Overdrive	Selected contemporary titles	1 user downloads (check-outs) only. Not ideal for Reserves.
Taylor & Francis	Books purchased directly from the publisher including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Chapman & Hall. These books are without DRM restrictions.	You can view via many browsers or download chapters as PDFs.
University of Michigan	Current year and term backlist	Chapter downloads
Wiley	Social Sciences, Humanities, and Physical Sciences content	Full text and chapter downloads