Research Guides: ARTHIST 225 Ancient Mesoamerican Art: Online Resources

Databases

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Access full-text publications from the American Anthropological Association including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Formerly known as Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts, or Humanities Abstracts.

Mesoweb
Includes digitized articles, images and other resources.
Mesoweb Index of Online Publications
Browse this list which can be arranged by author or title, for online articles pertaining to Ancient Mesoamerica. Most articles are available in full text.
The Mapas Project
The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.