English 796: Survey of English: Histories, Theories, Methods

The Department of English is located at N302 Callaway Memorial Center.

Graduate student letterboxes are located within the English dept. office.

• Events
• Faculty
• Graduate Handbook

This guide for the first-year Histories, Theories, and Methods Graduate Seminar has been organized into individual boxes and tabs that highlight the most relevant resources for incoming graduate students. You will find links to essential books, biographies, and encyclopedias in addition to links connecting you to useful research databases and professional organizations. As all first-year graduate students are new to the Emory Woodruff Library we have also included some basic tips and pointers for how to navigate library resources. Sarah Morris is the subject librarian for the English dept. and is always available for any queries you might have! 

• Sarah's Information
  • Contact your subject librarian to set up a meeting to discuss your research!
• Library Simplified
  • A handy guide to help you learn how to research using the Woodruff Library.
• Questions? Ask a Librarian!
  • Get a help from a librarian with any general questions! 
• Upcoming Research Workshops
  • Workshops in EndNote, Zotero, Omeka, copyright law, thesis/dissertation submission and more.
• Writing Center at Emory
  • Make an appointment with a writing center tutor. Due to the fact that graduate students tend to have longer projects it is important to schedule well ahead of your due date.
• Calendar of Events
  • Check in for current and upcoming events & exhibitions at the Emory Libraries.

Below you will find links to useful general academic databases:

• MLA International Bibliography
  • The MLA database indexes important materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. An excellent starting point for any research project!
• JSTOR
  • Provides access to a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines (no doubt y'all have used this once or twice as an undergraduate student!). 
• Academic Search Complete
  • Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text, journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
• Oxford Academic Databases (there are multiple  useful Oxford databases - simply scroll down the list)
  • Emory provides access to a number of Oxford University Press databases. Of particular relevance are the numerous Oxford subject bibliographies which provide useful summaries of key literary eras and important literary figures. 

Below you will find links to a few useful professional organizations:

• ACLA: American Comparative Literature Association
• ASLE: Association for the Study of Literature and Environment
• MLA: Modern Language Association
• Modern Humanities Research Association
• MELUS: The Society for the Study of Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States
• The Society for the Study of Southern Literature

Oxford Literary and Critical Theory Bibliography

This bibliography will be your best friend as you begin delving into the complex world of literary theory and criticism! A particularly useful resource containing peer-reviewed summaries of major schools of criticism, important theorists and critics, and general articles focused on literary theory and criticism.