Make a difference
Biographical Sources: Databases
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowSource of biographical information of people from different eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
- Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new windowContains primary sources on women's international activism since 1840.
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes reference sources and important retrospective works on individuals, both living and deceased, from different fields and regions of the world.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to a variety of biographical resources relevant to women's history including Marquis Who Was Who in America and Notable American Women.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAccess articles on noteworthy people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures Online This link opens in a new windowContains entries and resources on women and Islamic cultures. Includes material on every region with significant Muslim populations.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowContains material for the study of women's history in the world, including books, pamphlets, periodicals and more. Materials span four centuries and many different languages.
- Penguin Biographical Dictionary of WomenClear and concise biographies, on figures such as Marie Curie, Yingchao Deng, Diana, Princess of Wales, Nell Gwyn, Pope Joan, Sappho, Mary Shelley, and Mai Zetterling.
- Chambers Biographical DictionaryInternational and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.
- Biography in Context (Coverage: 1980-present)A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications.
Biographical Sources: Books
Below are selected biographical books on topics such as notable social reformers, artists, and athletes. There are similar books on carts throughout the first floor for your use. Look up the Wikipedia articles for the women you find in these books. Do they need a further reading section (you can add the book in your hand!) or some other editing?
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers by Publication Date: 2001
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports by Publication Date: 2001
Biographical Sources: Electronic Books
These are a few books on notable women are availably electronically from the library. You can find more in the library catalog.
Successful Women Ceramic and Glass Scientists and Engineers by ISBN: 9781118733608Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Women of Steel and Stone: 22 Inspirational Architects, Engineers, and Landscape Designers by ISBN: 9781613745090Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Biographical Sources: Archive collections
Archives and libraries often post finding aids or research guides on their websites that you can use to get an overview of a collection, including a biographical description of an individual. The information in these finding aids can also serve as clues for where to look next.
-
Schlesinger Library Finding AidsThe Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library is the premiere library for women's history in the United States. From their site, you can search finding aids/research guides to find biographical information on individuals in the collection, as well as clues on where to look next
-
Bingham Center Research GuidesAs with the Schlesinger Library, the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History (Duke University) provides access to detailed research guides on important women from through American history.