British/UK Parliamentary Papers Research Guide

This site provides links to organizations at all levels of government in the United Kingdom. There is also a subject index and a search feature.

Official Documents is the official reference facility for Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers. From May 2005 onwards, all Command Papers and House of Commons Papers, as well as Key Departmental Papers, are freely available here.

"The Parliamentary Archives is the official archive of the House of Commons and House of Lords (UK Parliament)."

An extensive website with links to each House of Parliament as well as information on acts, bills, elections, debates, papers and publications.

This web site offers the full text of debates going back to the 1988ー89　session, including oral written questions, bills, and commiｔtee reports. A search engine offered by this site allows researchers to search by keyword and by item type.

Offers the full text of Lords Hansard from 1803 to 2005..

"The UK public elects 650 Members of Parliament (MPs) to represent their interests and concerns in the House of Commons. MPs consider and propose new laws, and can scrutinise government policies by asking ministers questions about current issues either in the Commons Chamber or in Committees."

The House of Lords is the second chamber of UK Parliament. It plays a crucial role in examining bills, questioning government action and investigating public policy."

"Bills are proposals for new laws. If they pass every stage of scrutiny in the House of Commons and House of Lords, and receive Royal Assent they become Acts of Parliament, and Law."

"Committees consider policy issues, scrutinise government work, expenditure, and examine proposals for primary and secondary legislation."

Among a plethora of other information, this site lists all members of Parliament with the election results for their constituency and, if available, their email addresses and/or websites.

Election Guide is provided by IFES, an international nonprofit dedicated to the building of democratic societies. ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information and results available online.

This page lists the political parties with sites which have Parliamentary representatives from the United Kingdom.

The British society for the study of politics. Also see the WWW Gateway, which has 12,000 links to politics-related websites worldwide.

"The National Digital Archive of Datasets (NDAD) collection preserves and provides online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments. NDAD spans 40 years of recent history, with the earliest available dataset dating back to about 1963."

A huge website devoted to parties, governments, organizations, and media of the United Kingdom and its dependencies.