Research Guides: HIST 241: Citizenship, Law and Exclusion in the Early Modern World : Finding Primary Sources

Databases

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of a large collection of work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of a large collection of work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Gale Primary Sources: Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection Includes material on East India Company.of early English news media gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Includes newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides, and books.
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Pre-1926 treatises and monographs in the following areas: International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law; Roman Law; Islamic Law; Jewish Law; and Ancient Law.
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
American law titles, including early U.S. state codes; constitutional conventions and compilations (reports, journals, proceedings, debates, and supplementary documents published by the conventions); city charters; and law dictionaries.
The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Unofficially published accounts of trials, official trial documents, briefs and arguments, and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations in the United States, Great Britain and the world.
The Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Access a variety of documents related to the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more.
Includes access to Part I (1450-1850), Part II (1851-1914), and Part III (1890-1945).

Free Digital Collections

The Avalon Project (Document Collections, Yale Law Library)
Contains documents in law, history, and diplomacy from ancient times through the 21st century.
Bavarian State Library
Provides access to materials from the Bavarian State Library.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Provides access to the Fordham Medieval History Sourcebook.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Constitutional States (Paul Halsall, Fordham University)
Provides access to collections of documents on early modern European constitutional states.
Medieval and Early Modern British Historical Manuscripts
"The British Library’s manuscripts include chronicles, cartularies, rolls, charters and seals, genealogical and heraldic manuscripts, and state papers." - https://www.bl.uk/collection-guides/medieval-and-early-modern-british-historical-manuscripts
Medieval Digital Resources (MDR)
"MDR is a curated database of peer-reviewed digital materials for the study of the Middle Ages. Users can browse an alphabetical list or search using controlled-vocabulary subject tags to find vetted online resources of many types, including: imagebanks; bibliographies and reference works; pedagogical tools; editions and translations; music and other multimedia collections; interpretative websites; and new works of digital scholarship." - http://mdr-maa.org/
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
"A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court." - https://www.oldbaileyonline.org/